6-word-Saturday

Yes, I know it’s early, but

I made 4 Christmas cakes this week: – 1 for us and 3 for friends
CHRISTMASCAKES JUST BAKED

Rich fruit cakes, they will be fed every day for a week with brandy and then once a week until the 1st December, when they will be covered with almond paste.  When the almond has had time to dry out, I will have to make the momentous decision whether to use Royal Icing.  This requires pick and shovel to cut, or should I go for something softer, which I’m not very good at making.

Jock helped enormously with this marathon bake-off,. By the time the kilo of flour plus large amounts of spices, 500 grammes of butter, 2 packets of dark brown sugar and the dozen eggs were ready to be incorporated with the 3 kilos of various marinated dried fruits and nuts, the quantity had outgrown two mixing bowls and overflowed into a (clean) washing up bowl. Jock’s strength was needed to manipulate and stir the mixtures together.

The cakes turned out without disaster and the house smelled gorgeously spicy during the hours of baking

As a reward, and to celebrate the continued glorious weather, we went to the beach with four friends yesterday and had a magnificent meal at the Restaurant de la Mer at Pirou Plage.
IMG_0926_pe

my half demolished lobster - a considerable amount spread down my front and on the cloth.

my half-demolished lunch

For the fourth time in my life I experienced the joy of eating lobster!  That’s approximately 1 every 20 years, and I remember them all!

IMG_0930_pe

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, pictures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. It sounds wonderful to me. I’ve never eaten a cake soaked in brandy but I would be first in line if the opportunity arose. I start my baking as soon as the first chill is in the air. My daughter and I work as a team now that I’m getting older and it’s getting harder. I bake all sorts of cookies and pumpkin and banana breads to give as gifts. The only thing with alcohol in it is my rum balls. Think I need to remedy that and search for a recipe like your cakes. Sounds wonderful, My mother loved Marzipan and so does my sister. Too rich for me.

    Like

  2. catterel says:

    Oh wonderful! Christmas cakes made and lobster as a reward – heaven! My mother always used to make 4 or 5 that she gave away as Christmas presents to the favoured few. Last time she did it, she was 95 – and she iced and decorated them! I tried to follow suit, but had to give up last year when the oven gave up the ghost. Add some glycerine to the royal icing and it won’t go quite so hard.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Romi says:

    The cakes look wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ron. says:

    You gotta stop these posts, V; I’m drooling on my keyboard.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. restlessjo says:

    You’re 4 ahead of me- I’ve never tried lobster. 🙂 All that bashing stuff with mallets doesn’t appeal much, but I would love a taste. Christmas cake I can eat till it comes out of my ears. Seriously bad for my middle 🙂

    Like

  6. Tonya Jastad says:

    It doesn’t seem too early for me. Most of my Christmas gifts are homemade so I can be caught making cards or something in any month. I bet those cakes are absolutely wonderful. I think I might have to look up a recipe and see about making one myself. Thank you for the inspiration Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow for a moment there I pictured those wonderful spicy smells around me here. Your lunch also looked wonderful and the sea side is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Becky B says:

    Perfect timing as they will be delicious after two months of feeding 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can smell it from here!

    Well jel, as they say, that you went to your favourite restaurant without me 😦

    Like

  10. b_y says:

    The idea of frosting a fruit cake… ruin all that dark deliciousness with a sugar shell? Weeping.

    The style around these parts is more plain-button, heavy on the nuts and light on the alcohol.
    I’m the only person I know who actually likes the things (and if I had to make them–that would probably cure me). Imagining the smell. Thanks for a nice way to start my morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. katechiconi says:

    I make my cake about a month before Christmas, and feed it daily for a week to ensure it’s thoroughly pickled. It doesn’t last as well as a non gluten-free one, hence the short lead time. I’m a big fan of Italian icing, but no-one else likes it, or marzipan, so my cakes are unadorned except for crystallised fruits and nuts on top.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. It does seem rather early to be making Christmas related items, but I think you can be excused on this occasion because cakes improve with age. 🙂 That lobster looks delicious. Mmmm.

    Like

  13. tialys says:

    I used to make a Christmas cake every year for my Dad and loved feeding it with brandy for ages beforehand. Then he was told his cholesterol was a little on the high side and gave up eating things like that so I didn’t bother any more. I love the smell and the process of baking a Christmas cake but I’m not so keen on the eating part – it’s a bit rich for me. I’m ambivalent about marzipan and don’t like royal icing at all so perhaps it’s not cake for me. However, the smell will always remind me of the Christmas days when my Dad was still here.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

