Baking Morning

cranberry buns

Sweet vanilla air
wafts across the room
lasts longer than the cakes

It won’t be long
before that temptress
perfume of fresh bread
permeates the house.
Like Alice, I shall obey
the command to “EAT ME!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
and there are two blackberry and apple sponge puddings cooling, ready to go in the freezer

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in food, free verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baking Morning

  1. Delicious poem. The only problem is I’m hungry and I just ate breakfast.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ron. says:

    An ocean away & I’m drooling, craving.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodness…I can smell them from here, Viv!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. colonialist says:

    You may need to wear a muzzle
    If the ‘eat me’ sounds like ‘guzzle’!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tialys says:

    After watching the ‘Bake Off’ last night and seeing the sickly fillings and garish colours of some of the creations, these just look so down to earth and more the sort of thing I think of when I think of baking. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. And now I’m quite hungry. I so love winter so I can bake to warm the house and it does smell so wonderful. Those look scrumptious. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. katechiconi says:

    I think the smell of baking is one of the best aromas in creation: butter, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and dried fruit. Perhaps that’s why I bake so much for others. I feel inspired to produce a cake tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

