Winter Kyrielle

The longest nights are looming low
and misty mornings greet us, so
it’s time to hunker down with tea
to ride the winter out with me.

Cozy evenings we will spend
beside the fire, with bad tv.
A glass of wine or two or three
will ride the winter out with me.

Cheerful interlude of Yule
breaks the heart of winter’s rule,
helps us through the long ennui
to ride the winter out with me.

Worse will arrive with ice and snow
snivelling cold and stormy blow.
Endure, prevail, survive. To see
the end of winter, come with me.

Two prompts in one from Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, – to be inspired by Winter and to write a classic Kyrielle (as opposed to a Kyrielle sonnet)   I cheated a bit as usual, with refrain and rhyme scheme.  For me, rigid adherence to rules ruins poems!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Winter Kyrielle

  1. Viv, thanks for the visit! I can picture you and Jock doing just what this poem describes… and yes, those wintry months are coming. Just a few weeks ago, we were (of course) complaining about the heat here in Wisconsin. And now comes the harsh winter. But having company on the journey, that makes the difference! Amy

    Like

  2. I love the song-like quality to this, Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bastet says:

    How lovely … I enjoyed reading this “wintry” poem very much … let’s do hope we can avoid the colds and snivels though!

    Like

  4. belocchio says:

    Come ride the winter out with me. Lovely words. You have made a little magic with your poem. Perhaps we will ride out the winter in a sleigh Narnia snow queen style.

    Like

  5. This made me want to hop on a plane and come right back!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. katechiconi says:

    Oh bravo, matching ‘ennui’ and ‘me’! I too have the cold, but colds in hot weather have their own particular misery, as you may recall. Still, the sewing machine doesn’t care about the germs, the Husband has already had it (thank you SO much, darling) and I can be revolting in private.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. tialys says:

    Sounds like the perfect way to ride out winter to me! I’ve already got the cold though 😦

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

