Scrappy progress

The corn is as high as an elephat's eye 15.9.15

Topsy Quilt 15.9.15

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems, quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Scrappy progress

  1. Oh wow!! growing indeed…both corn and quilt!! :)’s

    Liked by 1 person

  2. colonialist says:

    It seems that your squares as a quilt you had meant,
    But how it goes now shows a different in-tent!

    Like

  3. colonialist says:

    Thank you SO much for planting ‘Oh what a beautiful morning’ in my nut, to sing to the accompaniment of deafening crashes of thunder and a downpour, with a backing chorus of howling petrified pooches.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tialys says:

    It’s beautiful Viv but I don’t envy you the quilting either. If I lived in the States I might be tempted to send it off to be professionally quilted, leaving me with just the binding to do. I know it’s sort of cheating – and expensive! – but, for the occasional large quilt, I don’t think I’d care!
    Weather wise, it’s very strange down here. The air outside is warmer than inside the house. We seemed to hit the end of August and autumn arrived almost instantly. I’m hoping for some more hot sunny days before we have to put the log burner into service.

    Like

    • UK also iprofessional longarm quilters vut it;s how to get it there. And I do love had quilting. It’s the in-between bit which gets more and more difficult for me.

      We’ve had two glorious weeks with little rain and plenty warmth. Now we’re waiting for the second storm in three days to hit us. It’s coming up from La Rochelle just now, and is reckoned to meet us at around 2pm.

      Like

  5. Oh my, you not only have it together, you have it on the bed already. You are fast. Me, I’ve been very lazy these last 2 weeks. I want a quilt like that. It looks so fun and relaxing. Yes, I have scraps and can make my own but yours is so pretty!

    Like

    • Only on the bed for the purpose of taking the photograph. I’m dreading the task of making the quilt sandwich ready for weeks of hand quilting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I would be too. I do not hand quilt as my eyes cannot see to do the work. I have to trust my machine. I sort of use a braille method of sewing. One day a finger will not make it out of the way. :)) I do enjoy the handwork of doing the binding. I can see where I’ve been and going much easier with that. Large quilts are so hard to sandwich without a lot of shifting. I never look forward to that part. I still love your scrap quilt. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. b_y says:

    Beautiful. It’s become a city.

    Like

  7. love that scrappy quilt

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Misky says:

    The quilt is beautiful! But my eye is drawn to your clear blue sky. It’s howling and pouring here. >

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

