Vlad the Impaler – a Haibun

Vlad the Inhaler

Horror stories are not my scene but when I stumble upon a name like Vlad the Impaler I have to wonder how he came to earn his soubriquet. The son of Vlad II Dracul,  (dragon) who was loved in his native Wallachia for his defence of the people,  Vlad III Dracul, was loathed for his ferocity throughout Europe and  particularly by his enemies the Ottomans.  Bram Stoker’s Dracula, named for our unfriendly Vlad, made sure the name would be remembered –

Impaled by fangs or lances,
the outcome is the same:
fatal loss of blood.

image Wikipedia

Another try for Margo’s Tuesday Tryout   and for the first Haibun Monday at dVerse

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in haibun, story poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Vlad the Impaler – a Haibun

  1. margo roby says:

    My thought exactly, when I saw the title. Who can resist Vlad the Impaler?! Then throw in dragons and what more can one want.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kelly says:

    A wonderful little history lesson with a perfect ending!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. C.C. says:

    I recently read a story about Dracula so enjoyed this, particularly the haiku at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Yes, for sure, a name like Vlad the Impaler tends to catch your attention! Thanks for the bit of history lesson and now I have more understanding of where the name Dracula hails from.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I can’t cope with horror stories either, but I like your interesting facts about the name and your amusing verse!

    Like

  6. Sumana Roy says:

    love that write on a piece of history…greatly enjoyable haibun…

    Like

  7. Kathy Reed says:

    Unexpected and fun, yet stirs one’s sensitivities about such monsters in power. Imaginative, too, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Horror stories are not my scene either, but you did a great job with this haibun. Not too gory, but just gory enough. Peace, Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gabriella says:

    Unexpected but fun use of the form! I am really enjoying all these haibun.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nicely original, succinct, and your haiku goes well with the prose – and amazingly, he IS admired by Romanians!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. kanzensakura says:

    Excellent creepy factor here. I read once where a visitor, some potentate’s son, was complaining about being outside among the impaled and how the wind kept blowing off his hat/head scarf. Vlad called some of his henchmen and had them drive a spike into his head to stop the blowing off. Not sure if it was true, but found it grimly amusing. Right now, I am re-reading The Historian and this haibun was right on time.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mary says:

    I enjoyed your grim take, Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is interesting, Viv – I wonder how the name Ottoman became the word for a large hassock. LOL.

    Like

  14. Ah.. new Vlad the Impaler on big screen
    way.. becomes hero.. as greaTest
    heroes.. take role of devil himself..

    Judas most
    often bleeds
    now most..:)

    Like

  15. x says:

    Perhaps Dracula was as much a political write as anything . God knows politics is still full of blood suckers

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Misky says:

    It’s difficult to sort fact from fiction with this guy. Terrific poem, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Then atrocities of war are ferociously challenging to accept, as is poverty, slavery, cruelty on all sides of us. There are books that paint Vlad with a more humane brush; a man of his times, who protected his country against overwhelming odds. As a history minor in college, I relished ferreting out other than acknowledged reporting on our founding fathers.

    Like

  18. I once heard about a zoo, where the Impala was named Vlad.. I like the history piece, and to me it becomes a little chilling with the current events in Hungary.

    Like

  19. colonialist says:

    No ways could Vlad ever rationally be regarded as a nice guy.

    Like

  20. tialys says:

    I love Stoker’s Dracula – it’s one of my favourite books. I’m always trying to get my daughters to read it as it’s far superior – in my opinion – to the ‘teen fiction’ type vampire stuff that has been published more recently. Still, as long as they read I suppose……

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Luanne says:

    Some good creepiness for the day . . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  22. This is informative and I’m with you…horror is not really my thing…only sometimes will a good old one make its way and that’s just to humor my husband who loves that stuff…opposites, we are. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. catterel says:

    I have recently read Leigh Fermor’s trilogy (actually only 2 1/2 books) about his walk through Europe and he has a very vivid description of the horrors that gave Vlad III his nickname. Makes ISIS look like kindergarten.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

