I am the Watcher

I am the watcher
watching the crop for maturity
and the sky for signs of rain.
Watching for the moment
when the parliament of tractors assembles
across the way to plan
the slaughter of the corn
to re-unite us with the view
of trees astride the hill

IMG_0883

For the dVerse Poets’ Pub

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I am the Watcher

  1. annell4 says:

    You are the watcher, watching nature, watching you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MarinaSofia says:

    Very much the case here in our rural corner of France too… can you tell me what those dried out white stalks are – sunflowers? They give a ghostly quality to the fields.
    Parliament of tractors and slaughter of the corn – pugilistic words there, apt to metaphorical interpretations…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A unique take on the prompt. Lovely!
    I like the “parliament of tractors” and the “slaughter of the corn”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved this. I am the watcher has an eerie tone to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like your choice of words here – to slaughter the field of corn is an interesting way of describing the harvest. Nice take on the prompt. Peace, Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the tone in this, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I do see our farmers as watchmen–the care and attention they must give their crops. Right now, here in Nevada, our farmers are watching (and praying for) rain!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. YES.. ME too.. i’ve been waiting for this
    moment for 55 years.. and
    now
    now
    never
    ends..;)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh the only thing I love with autumn is the opening up of views… leaves falling and harvest of the corn.. both great.. alas the darkness of the night also comes so the view can feel a little useless.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Grace says:

    I enjoyed the waiting and expectation when all the corn will be harvested and we can see the whole view again ~ Good one Viv ~

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Leave it to you too find a unique twist on the prompt, coming up with a stirring thoughtful poetic. Yup, Fall is around the corner, but global warming has left us with an Indian Summer. I like your lines /watching for the moment/when the parliament of tractors assembles/.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Powerful write 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. lynn__ says:

    I, too, am waiting for harvest…watching the signs and enjoying the views. It’s always a busy, exciting time on the farm!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. tialys says:

    It’s a bid sad that it’s already autumn though – where did yet another summer go? – however, I bet you’ll be glad to get your view back as I think corn could get a bit boring 😉

    Like

  15. Misky says:

    A very nice take on this prompt, Viv. Well done. >

    Liked by 1 person

  16. 1sojournal says:

    Wonderful image filled with expectancy,

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

