Senses

I’m all behind with Miz Quickly’s delightful prompts, having spent a happy week with young Tillybud, sharing some of our favourite French things, food and places and enjoying the lively company.

Miz Q has had us exploring the senses, and here is a less than fragrant poem on the theme of NOSE.

Dark opaque
insidious miasma
overwhelming smothering
every other scent.
No whiff of this
no trace of that
no hint of anything other
than skunk.

TASTE HAIBUN

Lunch with friends at the Restaurant de la Mer (that’s beside the sea to non-francophones) at Pirou Plage is to undergo an assault on the senses of sight, scent and savour.

Visually the food is stunning, the aromas enticing,  the experience consummated in the eating – texture, flavour, savoury or sweet, with tang and zest of skilful seasoning

A feast for gourmets
sensory titillation
full satisfaction

 

TOUCH

Lusciously stroke velvety lamb’s ear leaves
surprised by  scratchy tongue of cat.

Sink all your senses between smooth clean sheets
with the softest of pillows, subside into sleep.

Sound will have to wait.  Something’s gone crazy with WordPress layout tools, but I’m too tired to struggle with correcting it. So be it.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in food, free verse, haibun, life writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Senses

  1. I have done nothing but rave about our dinner out since I got back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are both great. I just started reading a book by Diane Ackerman on the senses–I so recommend it for poets. Just terrific and I’d think you’ve already read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH MY! I am completely distracted by the beautiful food.. and the lovely luscious words! c

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Food presentation is something the French excel at. I miss that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, yes…skunk masks ALL! I had a scare last week…took the dog out later than usual and heard a rustling under the porch…I was out of there…FAST!

    Gourmet indeed! Lovely…words and images!

    Love the examples you brought for touch too, all very relate-able.

    Great senses post, Viv…sorry WP is being troublesome…it will probably straighten out on its own – glich-y thing sometimes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Misky says:

    I absolutely love your ‘touch’ poem. And that skunk gave me a smile, too. >

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

