History in Art

David, Michelangelo

Throughout the ages artists
have harked back to earlier times.
Vast scenes of gods and goddesses
epic battles, resplendent kings.
Renaissance gave us the classical
in extravagant proportions
focused on the human form
in unlikely combinations
surrounded by flying cherubim –
more naked flesh than we would wish
exposed in improbable contortions.

Impressions of reality cajoled me
and then they went surreal, abstract,
cubist, fauvist, weird, and lost me.

Michaelangelo’s David, image from Wikipedia

Abhra at dVerse Poets’ Pub has us talking about history in art.  My poem is more a brief history of art, but you get the idea.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, rhyming poetry, sonnet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to History in Art

  1. Viv, I loved this. Watching Riley go from creating comic book art to fine art has been wonderful. I am a fan of all sorts of art, including Impressionism, Abstraction, and even Cubism, but I draw the line at Margaret Keane’s big-eyed waifs, ha ha ha. It was a struggle in years past trying to allow even Picasso into my mind, as I grew up without any abstract art of any kind, and your poem brings to mind those growing pains. I am by no means an expert, though! Thanks, amy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Abhra says:

    “more naked flesh than we would wish
    exposed in improbable contortions” ha ha, I love that and the contrast you talk about in the end is too perfect….thanks…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Mr. Linky can be a touchy bugger sometimes. Nice descent through the miasma of art history; thought it smacked of sonnet somehow. All my life I’ve heard of modern Art. As a kid I like photo-realism, but the abstract has captured my interest of late; especially Claudia’s work, as we have watched it evolve.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. colonialist says:

    Weird loses me too, every time. I don’t mind the exposure of human bits, though, if they are relatively neat and attached to well-kept bodies.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kanzensakura says:

    I like the last stanza – how art changes, how we change. But some of it, I cannot like. I appreciate it but I do not like it. I like simple art, but then, I suppose, even the simple is complex. But Jackson Pollack looks like the refrigerator art I did in kindergarten. Hmmmm……most enjoyable write!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Smiles. More naked flesh than we could hope for!? The more abstract kinds of art have grown on me–some of them, anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Grace says:

    I think people have different tastes and preferences too ~ Some weird & abstract ones are not my favorites either ~ I prefer the simple and earthly kinds ~

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ah the statues of antiquity full of naked truth
    and soft as well.. oLD.. David.. a Christian
    pArt of GOD and others on ceiling of
    Sistine Chapel escape
    unscathed but not
    so for Apollo
    same face
    different
    clothes
    escapes
    without
    a
    you know
    i for one FEEL
    in a free world NOW
    men can be real ‘MIN’
    and i for one illustrate
    that in ART as Flesh and FREE..:)

    Like

  9. wolfsrosebud says:

    they say art is in the eye of the beholder… i wonder what the rest of the world looks like

    Liked by 1 person

  10. X says:

    I guess is is a matter of taste, preference. And perhaps too it is a reflection of our world. We made the gods tangible, and gave them our own image as well. Classical art is much more “real” and human. After that we moved beyond. In the end though we are still consumed with the same things – peddling flesh, the naked form – and making our gods look like us. I think it makes us feel better to chain divinity to our sides.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Like a descent into chaos!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. claudia says:

    the history of art is quite often a revolutionary one and i think some new movements lost a lot of people and some painters were openly mocked and cut by society and now their works are sold for millions of dollars – maybe we need time to get what the painter is trying to show us… i’m much into neo-expressionism at the moment – probably in both – my painting and writing…smiles

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh . sometimes the ancient seem so much more in harmony.. the modernistic art can sometimes take some time to get used to.. much like the written words. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

