Earth’s Bounty

It doesn’t always live up to expectations –
frequently too hot, too cold, too wet, too dry

Wearing pretty cotton dresses and silly strappy sandals
does something magic for a girl’s morale and looks

Young beauty is enhanced by a light, natural tan –
with not too much sun, to avoid later wrinkles.

Warm summer nights are made for flirting –
under the stars romance starts to grow.

Longer days and shimmering nights make growing time
Fruits and grains swell rapidly towards maturity.

 A quasi-ghazal for Miz Quickly about something or someone we love, without naming it.
I struggled with this, as is probably evident!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Earth’s Bounty

  1. julespaige says:

    All things in moderation – even that beloved summer sun 🙂

    I had tried to post a few hours ago but the place I’m staying at had a connection-fart.
    But at least my computer saved where I was.

    I addressed your comment at my site 🙂
    I’m still not sure if I got the prompt right, but I like the piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You can assume that I love summer!

    Like

  3. Misky says:

    Very nice. I enjoyed reading this, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

