Midsummer

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The lull that follows the solstice
leaves me gasping.
Where have distant woods and fields gone?
Hidden by waving maize stems.

*

What am I doing here?
Sitting in the sun doing nothing
gazing at heavy green-ness
with eyes dulled by apathy.

*

Where is the impulsion brought by Spring?
In this mid-season hiatus
soon to slide into brief Autumnal high
before descent to Winter passivity.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in nature poems, pictures, prose poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Midsummer

  1. Even Portland, Oregon has had two heat waves. I think that as I get older, I do not adapt well to weather extremes. I love your seasonal descriptions in this, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    It’s fine to sit and stare when you’ve been travelling. 🙂 Looks like a deluge heading your way 😦 I’m heading up to Bellingham today, which I will enjoy irrespective of weather.

    Like

  3. Other than the odd sunny day, summer seems to be passing us by.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love energy and “impulse” of Spring contrasted with Autumn’s lethargy, Viv. I have missed reading your poetry and am glad to be back for a time! A winning triptych here… Amy

    Like

  5. Luanne says:

    Summer can be a strange beast. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tialys says:

    Don’t say that Viv! I’m just settling into summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. claudia says:

    midsummer – so hot over here those last weeks… hard to breathe at times and def. gnawing at the substance a bit.. yet autumn so close already.. i’m not yet ready

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

