The Yeomen of the Guard

picture taken by my son, Robin J Smith

picture taken by my son, Robin J Smith

In summer frocks and soppy socks,
wearing ludicrous panama hats,
we convent girls trooped round in awe
of portentous birds and beefeaters
with  pikes guarding royal regalia.

Enough grizzly history,
weird instruments of torture,
tales of imprisonment and despair
in the dungeons of the Tower
to frighten schoolgirls into silence.

The visit was but a prelude
to sending the whole thing up
in Gilbert’s satirical words
and Sullivan’s lovely music.

Phoenix Rising’s PAD continues the travelogue theme with a prompt on the Tower of London, which I visited with my school in 1950 or thereabouts in preparation for a production of the Yeomen of the Guard.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, pictures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Yeomen of the Guard

  1. Smiles. Wonderful memories. I’ve just found a couple of my convent high school grads here in Reno, just a mile or 2 away. (a little younger than me, but great connection).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Misky says:

    This is a charming story that made me smile. So sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. catterel says:

    I have vivid memories of my first visit to the Tower, aged 7, when I stuck like a limpet to the Beefeater showing us round – much to the amusement of the group and his embarrassment.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Candy says:

    brings back memories of my visit to the Tower. Thanks for sharing yours.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

