What Lives Here?

lush greeneryWhat lives here
under this scrofulous bark?
What creeps through
the tangle of nettles
punctuated by clumps
of grass, primroses
bluebells and a host
of shade-loving plants?
What sings from this branch?
What flutters the leaves?
What lives here?
Life, that’s what.

Today is wet, wild and windy, so I may stay indoors and quilt.  This is a photo from a walk a week or so ago, for Sally’s wild challenge.  I live in the Normandy bocage,  (full explanation here) where secret tracks abound.  The hedgerow trees are coppiced, which makes for multiple shoots from a huge trunk at the bottom, ideal habitat for small creatures.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, nature poems, prose poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Lives Here?

  1. Candy says:

    I love when a lovely poem teaches me a new word! Scrofulous , indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love old trees with that much character. Great poem about it. Life lives there. I liked that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had to look up the word scrofulous. What a great word.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Misky says:

    This is lovely, Viv. I could almost hear those little critters!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tialys says:

    That looks like the stuff I’ve just waded through (in shorts – it’s very hot here today!) to get my dog back inside after he ran off on our walk and went to harass his nemesis, the neighbour’s dog, through the fence. Just off to find something to put on nettle stings……

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

