REFRAIN

As I walked out last evening
in the fading warmth of the day
a swirling swarm of swallows
sang their hearts out just for me.
More birds joined in with gusto –
a chatter of chaffinch nearby
and others whose names I didn’t know,
a splendid dusk chorale
lifted my spirits to the sky

.bee on bush

I passed this shrub, (Can someone tell me if this is a viburnum?) which was alive with bumble bees, but my tiny camera only managed to catch this one.

 

For Sally’s Wild Challenge, 15.6.15

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in nature poems, rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to REFRAIN

  1. Just wonderful, Viv! I think your nature poems are almost always your best poems. There’s so much feeling in them, and the joy of life shines through.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is nothing more lovely than to be serenaded by nature’s bounty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sherry Marr says:

    Lovely, Viv. I like the lilt of this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This poem spoke to me as well. As for the flowers, I looked them up but it’s still hard to tell. A nurseryman could tell you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Candy says:

    nothing like a chorus of birds to sooth the soul – thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “in the fading warmth of the day
    a swirling swarm of swallows
    sang their hearts out just for me.”

    Viv!! This brings tears to my eyes!! So beautiful and I feel that nature does reach out to individuals in just such sweet ways. ♥

    Liked by 2 people

  7. judithhb says:

    How lovely to be in France in early Spring and to hear the chorus.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tialys says:

    Your own private concert performance Viv – how lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. thehutts says:

    I was watching feeding Swifts, House Martins and Swallows from the luxury of the settee after work last night. Better than the telly! Sally

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

