Double Earful by Miz Quickly – a quasi-sonnet

 

Mistress Quickly  is a tease
she reels off prompts with the greatest of ease,
prompts to inspire and prompts to please
but yesterday she went too far
with rhyming words – a list bizarre–
for us to use  in any way we choose.
Two hundred and fifty-nine to be precise.
I’ll say it once, I’ll say it twice:  no dice.
But keep ‘em coming anyway,
it does all poets good to play.

I don’t think I’ve used any of your words
but if I have, please sheath your sword,
I do not want us to come to blows.
If I’ve offended, I’ll send a rose.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, humour, rhyming poetry, sonnet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Double Earful by Miz Quickly – a quasi-sonnet

  1. Miz Quickly says:

    thumping good, silly Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julespaige says:

    RSVP

    Me thinks fair lady of the quill both delicate and bold
    You did exactly as you were told –
    It matters nay if from the list you chose
    There was no offence, thus no rose…
    For your words were thematic
    Fun for the reading – nay a bit traumatic
    Just full of fun was your verse
    Spiced with just enough pepper, were they terse?
    Just absolutely edgy
    A fine poetic ‘wedgie’

    ©JP/dh

    Telemarketers can be so annoying. The funniest response I read about was when a person pretended to be the police and got into a conversation with the telemarketer basically telling him to stay on the line because they were investigating a murder at the number he just had called and they needed to question him!
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Mabe
    This gent made a video too. I just included this link – the very last bit made me laugh out loud – selling sleeping pills to Telemarketers at the hotel at 3am…

    Thanks for your continued support and encouragement. You are the best Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

