6-word-Saturday

June is busting out all over
(not)

The weather has been off and on foul so far this June, chilly with heavy showers and gale force winds.  I can remember one or two fine warm days since April, but not many in a row.

strawberry tea 1   strawberry tea 2   strawberry tea 3

An exception was last Saturday’s strawberry tea – a very British Garden party with lawn games and the obligatory raffle, which raised the satisfying sum of 1000 euros for la Ligue Contre le Cancer  The tea was splendid:  elegant cucumber sandwiches with the crusts cut off, scones with butter, strawberry jam and great dollops of thick cream and luscious cakes.

pansy

Last year we had a box of pansies
on the windowsill
to cheer us for a while until
the winter came.
This year the gravel by the house
is speckled with purple there –
pansy seeds explode and scatter
spreading cheerful faces everywhere.

Heartsease  (Viola tricolor) AKA pansy, three faces in a bonnet  —  Photo by alex.stemmer depositphotos.com

For Sally’s wild challenge

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, nature poems, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. I’m off to a cream tea this afternoon and it looks like November out there 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How wonderful the weather co-operated for at least one important day. I love having a formal tea. And pansies are my favorite. Mine have stayed here the year round as we had little winter and now a brutal summer. I don’t recall this area ever being so warm so long. And it’s only just the beginning of summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Being American, I’ve always wondered what a proper English tea would be like. The kids and I used to do Poetry Teas for fun. We would memorize a poem to recite while enjoying an assortment of hot teas, mini sandwiches, little cookies and cakes, and such.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. colonialist says:

    I am more inclined to coffee and cream cakes lately, but still! The pansies are delightful, and remind me that we need to reserve a spot for a bed of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Candy says:

    There’s nothing like a proper British tea. Your pansy poetry is most pleasing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. MarinaSofia says:

    Looks splendid! We’re enjoying the weather here too, although we get the inevitable evening thunderstorms (that’s what comes of living in a bucket of a lake surrounded by mountains).

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Romi says:

    The strawberry tea — it sounds fascinating!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jim says:

    I like your six pansies, Viv. Sorry I missed your tea. We were sailing to Norway but had been in London and France the weeks before. Perhaps next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Every June is different; some we like, and some we don’t!

    Six Words and Shadows

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ron. says:

    Mid-week was kind of icky here, but the weekend holds real promise. Great way to start the summer vacation from school. My Beloved Sandra and I are headed to The Outer Banks soon. I’m sure I’ll be writing about it, maybe have some pictures, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. restlessjo says:

    That’s two of you cheating this week! Have you seen Elaine’s 7? Must be the weather 🙂
    Isn’t it strange? We’ve just had a lovely week here. Not HOT but very pleasant by our standards, yet a friend went to the Algarve and said it was cool and windy! I felt rather guilty but I can’t control the weather Gods 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  12. We had a beautiful warm day yesterday, though not particularly sunny, but now it’s a dull, wet and cool day. I love pansies – the gravel by your house must be looking lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. tialys says:

    We’ve had some very hot days down here but then it sort of gets itself in a tiz and decides to turn into a storm. I’m sure the climate here has changed in the last 3 years. We always used to be able to rely on the weather in June but not so much now. I hope things cheer up for you up there soon.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

