The sound of noise

 

The noise of sound

Melodious music from morning birdsong
as I wake to the dawning of the chorus

The chuck,chuck,chuck of  blackbird’s alarm call
as I enter his no-go zone in the wood

The hum of the kettle preparing for tea
the chinking of spoon against cup

Hum, susurration of whispered words,
murmur trickle ripple,  liquid flow  –

the beep of the signal, battery low, in right ear
I’m about to swap detail of sound for noise

The roar of the Northerly gale in the trees
huffing and swishing and thrashing the branches

Pass the school playground and quail at the uproar
drumroll of feet, thud of football, boys yell “à moi”

Infants’  playground, different noise:
trundle of scooters racing, screams.

Pounding  sticks on skins, clash of cymbal, twang of guitar
guttural groaning, shouting passing for song

Fierce whine of chainsaw, drone of motor mower
clatter boom crash roar grumble wail growl yell

The sounds of noise

Mz Quickly has us thinking about sound and noise

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The sound of noise

  1. Candy says:

    The wonderful noise of life!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those are beautiful noises 😀 I enjoyed reading this

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is just so good, Viv. Sometimes ,when I’m trying to quiet my crazy thoughts, I just like to tune into the sounds that surround me–especially the nature ones. Nice flow to the piece, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the tempo of this piece, Viv…so many great details!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rosross says:

    I think you have captured the spirit of the prompt wonderfully.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

