Adventure

for Sally’s wild challenge:  I started a new Future Learn course today – How to Write Your First Song, from Sheffield University  – which is an adventure in itself.  

So I haven’t had time to write a new poem for the challenge.  Not wanting to wimp out, I give you a re-blog of one I wrote a while ago:  

Holding our breath in reverence
for the mystery of the forest
we’ll explore the dangers ahead
timid yet brave for adventure,
breathing in good fresh air.

How to escape the labyrinth?
Tie a string and trail it behind,
leave paterans of twigs at junctions
or cut blazes in bark to point the way?
Keep an eye out for monsters
or maybe there’s a bear.

Collect pebbles in pockets
for a cairn at the top
to show that we were there.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, re-blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Adventure

  1. Candy says:

    What a beautiful hike. Good luck on your course!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A new course is always an adventure. Anxious to hear how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember this image prompt from Creative Blooming days…I love the sense of adventure and journey in this and I didn’t realize that those piles of stones are called a cairn. Thank you for a new word today. Good luck on your new course, Viv…that’s exciting!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thehutts says:

    Lovely poem but can’t approve blazes in bark – might effect a commercial timber crop. Crayon/paint blazes for way marking are OK. Sally

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

