Home – a definition

The centre of my web
the hub of everything
where friends can come
in peace for chat and food
laughter and welcome,
and then, thank God, to leave.
The place to let it all hang out –
comfort zone’s a cliché
but that’s what I call home.

 

There is no French word for home – chez  vous doesn’t count for me.  Mistress Quickly’s prompt yesterday was for a definition, and she pinpointed home.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home – a definition

  1. Candy says:

    How true. And I smiled when the friends left 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    Sounds good to me, Viv. Remind me to leave before I outstay my welcome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You crack me up…this definitely resonates with me,

    “friends can come
    in peace for chat and food
    laughter and welcome,
    and then, thank God, to leave.”

    I’m a very social – anti-social!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tialys says:

    It’s the only time I do any housework!
    I never thought about there being no word for ‘home’ in French – there’s probably some sort of deep-seated, cultural reason for it but it does seem a shame.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like your definition. I’m making my first home and it’s still having a struggle coming into being. Everyone that comes, wants to stay, forever…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This so true. I love having people to visit, but I love it when they leave too!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

