Foxgloves and Friendship

I went out walking in glorious sunshine yesterday, on the hunt for foxgloves to fotograf. Found lots of the graceful spires of bells, took lots of interesting snaps.
Well come on then, I hear you say, where are they?
Um.  Nowhere.  I’d forgotten to replace
the vital memory card
in the camera.

So no wild  poem for Sally’s wild challenge today.  Instead I found mindlovemisery’s heeding haiku prompt to write haiku or tanka on friendship.

 

Senryu

To make it work,
friendship requires work –
reciprocity.

Tanka

*Old friends, new friends,
loved ones and neglected ones.
Age is not for wimps –
too many have gone before,
some for ever, some elsewhere.
.

*a variant of the regular introduction by pianist Semprini to his long ago Serenade programme  on the BBC Home Service.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in haiku and senryu, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Foxgloves and Friendship

  1. elspethc says:

    Then there are the friendships where work and play are both shades of some adventure. Like the way you turn forgetting into haiku and tanka …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DELL CLOVER says:

    Reciprocity, YES! And some work…but if it gets to be a job, I’m done; we’re not meant to carry any relationship all on our own shoulders. Sorry about the pictures, I was looking forward to them as I read all you’d “photographed”–Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue says:

    A very heartfelt Tanka…

    Like

  4. Oh I love Foxgloves, but will just have to imagine them then! I have done the same thing so many times after putting my memory card in the computer to download photos. What a shame!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Much wisdom on friendships here…I’m sorry about your pictures, Viv…hopefully these kind of blooms last a little while so you can try again. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do agree with your haiku but I would submit that some friendships can survive the absence of reciprocity – as in, you keep commenting on my blog when I post and I’m always trying to catch up with yours. And yet you still love me! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You made me smile this morning. I have done the same thing. As for friendship, I let go of those that don’t want to reciprocate. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful. It is true that every friendship requires work and there must be reciprocity of feelings.
    And the tanka is heartfelt. It made me remember all those friends.
    A wonderful post. 🙂
    -HA

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tialys says:

    I miss foxgloves ( and bluebells) – they don’t seem to grow wild down here.

    Like

  10. thehutts says:

    The photos may still be on the internal memory of your camera. Have you got a USB cable for it? If so plug it in to you laptop and see what happens 😉
    Sally

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

