Prepositional Recipe

Remember being taught to knit by Grandma?
In, over, through, off, wool forward, plain;
in, over, through, off, wool back, purl;
Ribbing holds the waist in,
finishes off the neck,
makes cuffs on the ends of sleeves.
Then there’s garter stitch –
which stretches out your scarf –
or moss stitch, much like ribbing
but the plains and purls
are staggered instead of in lines.
You can  twist a group of stitches
to fancy-up the pattern,
by making a cable.
Knit one, slip one, knit two together
Pass slipped stitch over –
makes a little hole to place
opposite where you sewed a button.
Voila, you have a cardigan

 

Ms Quickly is back with her quirky prompts.  This time she wants us to do something with prepositions.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Prepositional Recipe

  1. What a creative way to use prepositions! I don’t knit and can barely crochet anymore. My great aunt taught me to crochet when I move in with her at 14. She was my role model for the world. Maybe I shouldn’t have given it up? Now you have me thinking.

    Like

  2. You make it sound so easy! I love knitting but I am so tense, I break the needles. They just snap!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Luanne says:

    Mom taught me. It was good to knit while watching TV. But now we fast forward through commercials.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tialys says:

    It was my Mum who taught me to knit, rather than my Nan, but the pupil has now become the master. For goodness sake don’t tell her I said that though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dorannrule says:

    If only it could be that easy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. julespaige says:

    Delightful. I can only do straight lines of one thing or another for knitting. So I crochet instead. But still nothing fancy as following patter directions… well…

    Thanks for your visit and kind comments. One of these days I’m going to have to do one of those self help learn ‘English’ grammar books. Hard to follow directions sometimes when you are unsure of just what the terms mean. I could have looked it up like Whimzy but I was short on time and I guess besides using the ‘relationship’ aspect, did OK. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. whimsygizmo says:

    YES! Perfect, perfect subject matter and vehicle for prepositions! Delightful, and brings back memories.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

