6-word-Saturday

The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

is anything but second best.  We came out of the little Cinéma de la Plage last Thursday on a high, wishing there had been a second showing straight away!  I’ve ordered the DVD.

Hilarious and witty script; extraordinary plot;  fabulous cast, costumes and Jaipur setting;  perfect ending:   all contributed to a wonderful way to spend a dull, wet afternoon.  Who would have thought that Downton’s snooty Dowager Countess of Grantham-cum-Jean Brodie, Maggie Smith, could turn into a feisty cockney dilapidated old duck with language to make your hair curl?  Celia Imrie as a semi-pro courtesan was priceless casting. Bill Nighy as the bumbling tour guide, unable to remember his spiel, aroused such affection in the audience, as did Judi Dench as a trainee wheeler-dealer.  All this and countless more superb performances made this into one of the best comedy films I have seen in a very long time.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Second best is not all that shabby!

    Six Words about Gloves

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mlissabeth says:

    I am looking forward to it coming here in the States.

    Like

  3. Awesome! Sounds like a great show! (Unfortunately we don’t have shows like that around here…)

    Like

  4. restlessjo says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, Viv. Next time I need cheering up… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I saw it a little while ago, and was prepared for it not to match up to the first one, which I loved. However… I agree wholeheartedly with your review of it. I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. granny1947 says:

    This sounds like so much fun. thanks for the head’s up!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. middlegirl54 says:

    Appreciate the review.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sue says:

    Good to know, Viv – I shall hunt it out

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My son and I saw it awhile back. It must come out late where you are. I LOVED it. He not so much. He wanted to smack the young lead fellow. I keep telling him it’s the writers that make him behave so awful. 🙂 I own the first one and will probably get the second. So few good films for us more mature audiences. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  10. Great recommendation- must see the film now!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Yes, I absolutely agree!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Georgia says:

    I really enjoyed that film too Viv, I’m glad you liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. gillena says:

    The trailers are on our TV screens now . have a good Saturday

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. tialys says:

    A film full of ‘national treasures’ – it’s bound to be worth a look. Plus, it makes a change to see a film featuring people over 40 which is uplifting rather than depressing.

    Like

  15. Ron. says:

    Good to know. Thanks, V; we’ll check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Misky says:

    We saw the first one, and loved it. Now we shall hunt out the second.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

