Whirligig 6: Belinda

Delinquent Donkey

Belinda our mystic donkey
was a contrary soul –
take her for a walk southward and she’d stop dead,
dig her hooves into the soil.
Change direction
she’s all sweetness and light –
no consolation
if you need to go the other way.
Desperate for  sleep?
She’ll bray all night.
Small child on her back –
no bother –
soon dumped in the pond.
Twenty paces up the lane,
she’ll change her mind again
steering her feeble owner home.
Tie her up to groom,
you feel breath hot on your bum,
skip to one side to avoid the nip.
Leaning on you with all her weight
you stagger away,
cursing the pestilence
that is Belinda.

The whirligig wordle words today are   –: southward, feeble, soil, hollow, purple, twenty, donkey, breath, leaning, mystic, pestilence, consolation   

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, wordles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Whirligig 6: Belinda

  1. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Belinda and I would soon come to an understanding, I think, especially about dumping hapless children into the pond. No, Belinda, no!

    Like

  2. Was she a real donkey? Tell us more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. catterel says:

    The spirit of Belinda lives on – I think I know where!

    Like

  4. peggygoetz says:

    What a fun poem this is. I love the story of Belinda the donkey. I so enjoy seeing where different poets take the same words.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like quite the contrary character!! Nicely wordled, Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mr. Walker says:

    I like the story you told here, from mystic to pestilence.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cressida says:

    This explains a lot….French donkey syndrome !

    Like

  8. annell4 says:

    A delightful write!

    Like

  9. That poem was lovely and made laugh and a bit melancholy. Sounds like you miss that contrary soul. I was married to a man like that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. tialys says:

    She sounds like a real ‘character’.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. oldegg says:

    They certainly have minds of their own and are as stubborn as Mules (even if they are not).

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jae Rose says:

    I think I would like Belinda – she reminds me of a certain little someone..thank you for making me smile this morning 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

