Microsoft I Despise You

After the traumas and expense of the mid-April laptop debacle, MS has done it again.  Yesterday morning Lappyy was on strike again.  Updates had caused it to crash.  A couple of hours work and I had managed to restore some semblance of function, but the screen was full of hundreds of unwanted apps, games and 4 separate anti-virus programmes.  But didn’t include MS Office and my paid-for AVG anti-virus.  Hours of uninstalling followed, as Lappy was on a go-slow from eating too much.

I managed to write a poem on the vestigeal system of word processing that was the only option, then tried to print it.  Bingo, Lappy died again.  Old lappy to the rescue, but the same problems as caused me to buy new Lappy last year persist.

At least I had had the good sense to back up last month’s work.

So it’s off to see the SYM (Splendid Young Man) again, though I bet he tries to hide when he sees me come through the door!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in prose, rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Microsoft I Despise You

  1. Hmm…I hope it will keep behaving this time around, Viv..I love this, ” SYM (Splendid Young Man) ” that made me laugh! I have windows eight…I wonder how it is a pain as per the comment…I’m wondering if it isn’t why my laptop is slow and glitchy…I’m not tech-savvy At. All. Here’s to your lappy behaving this time!

    Like

    • Fingers crossed it will stay healthy from now on. Try spending time clearing out old unwanted files, shortcuts and software. Also it helps to defragment regularly. But the biggest slower downer is all those apps that show up out of the blue – I’ve un-installed countless games and other rubbish stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. colonialist says:

    Pens and paper had a lot to be said for them!
    The exchange of letters is, admittedly, a bit slow though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my. I know of what you speak. My son had to use remote access to my laptop to fix it when he lived in California. And he did an amazing job of it. Now I have tech support (my son) sitting right next to me. He hates windows 8 as much as I do. It’s like Microsoft takes something that is working perfectly well and breaks it. I hope your problems are resolved.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrew says:

    Microsoft is the capital of the evil empire. Just so you know…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Misky says:

    Oh bother.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Would you consider removing Windows 8 and installing Windows 7 instead?

    Like

  7. Léa says:

    My condolences. I do understand especially after losing a number of pages of the novel I am working on. Bonne chance!

    Like

  8. tialys says:

    Oh, Oh! Good luck with your SYM, let’s hope he finds a solution.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

