And so it goes…

Tax Humour

May is usually my favourite month (if it isn’t April or September…   But there is one drawback:  Déclaration de Révenue (or Income Tax return) is done in May.  It’s bad enough when all the documents you need are to hand, but when a vital one is missing…..

This year, as usual, the form for declaring income from another country wasn’t sent, despite us having used it for the last 20+ years.  As usual I went to impots.gouv.fr to print
it off, but it took half an hour of searching to find it, as they had omitted the number from the list of downloadable forms.

Then half the bank statements had gone missing (miss-filed by yours truly), and even when I found them, my eyes were giving out by the time the items I needed had been winkled out from a sea of figures, and the sums done.

Crowning my irritation, the forms from the Employment Office for claiming aged persons tax relief on our lovely cleaner’s wages and contributions didn’t arrive.  A phone call of the ‘press this that and the other’ kind informed me that they no longer send these and I would have to register online to find the necessary information.    An impenetrable website which makes you go back to the beginning at every other line, and an hour of clicking later before I managed to register.  Oh joy!  This is it, I thought.  But no, when I went to the site with my new identity and password, it told me that I would have to wait 48 hours for the account to be activated.

So I still don’t know if they’ll come up with the figures, and I still can’t finish the blank blank return!   To cope with French income tax, you need a  microscope to read the faint red print on the forms and  degrees in accountancy and tax law to complete them.

Postscript:  I’ve just logged on to my new account for employment:  there is no means of checking  payments and contributions for an employee.  Thus it’s back to the bank statements and doing sums.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And so it goes…

  1. OH my GOODNESS. What a difficult time…that’s epic, Viv and your patience and stick-to-it-of-ness is applaud worthy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel your pain. My first husband used to wait till April 14 to start on our taxes and yelled at me all the way through April 15. When we divorced in 85, I got a tax man and he has been doing my taxes ever since. Told the last husband the tax man was non negotiable. I just have no head for it. I’ve moved to two other states and he still does them. He’s my hero! 🙂 Silly, I know but taxes horrify me. I wish you all the best with that challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrisjarmick says:

    That sounds pretty Kafka-esque indeed… since you are now becoming an expert… would you mind looking over the U.S. IRS tax code and explaining some things? I mean you have a couple days now right?

    Like

  4. catterel says:

    The French seem to recruit people with a high level of sadism to design these forms! Luckily, I only have to deal with the Swiss and Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs, which are comparatively civilised in their online forms.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Misky says:

    Oomph, what a bother. I hope you sort it today, Viv.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tialys says:

    I feel your pain. The French are the masters of the impenetrable website. Although, they do like to make them ‘pretty’ with garish colours, animated figures and falling snow.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

