Napowrimo 28, 2nd instalment: The Bridge Club

Where people connect
interact
compete
recollect they have a brain
concentrate
demonstrate
their skill with numbers
exercise the social art
before the time comes to depart
satisfied
bids justified
or on the way to suicide
when partner asks you why
you bid that slam
whereby
you lost the rubber
damn
two trumps left uncounted
absentminded
error fatal –
counting trumps is vital
partner gloats with cruel recital
of your mistakes in spades
to Hades
with bridge
 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in humour, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Napowrimo 28, 2nd instalment: The Bridge Club

  1. pherecrates1 says:

    Ha ha!!! You captured the essence of the game in spades!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to stop by for awhile and have finally made it. Going to explore for a bit. I don’t play card games as I don’t have the patience or understanding of them. I guess quilting fills that same criteria for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. colonialist says:

    Lovely!
    But, puh-lease, skip my latest NaPo thing or you may come at me with Clubs!

    Like

  4. I like that it helps recollect that we have brains…this is interesting to me…you set the scene so well…we never had these event growing up…wish my folks had been more social.

    Like

  5. Luanne says:

    I am the kid whose parents were always hosting their THREE bridge clubs, so this was pretty funny!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tialys says:

    I don’t play Bridge (or even know the rules) but this made me laugh. I assume you play as it sounds like you speak from experience.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

