Napowrimo 26 – Anticlimactic Wordle

That first evening gown was made for me
by a lady who lived down the road.
She sewed for a living – her purse must have been small –
she didn’t charge much for the hours that she spent
measuring, cutting, pinning, tacking, stitching,
ruining her eyes in poor light.

That first evening gown cost Mum four pounds
with dark yellow velour for the boned strapless bodice,
diaphanous lace for the skirt in a pale iridescent shade,
which didn’t go well with my mottled, freckled teenage skin.
The skirt was graceful and swirly, the top close-fitting and sexy
for my first ever evening dance.

That first evening ball was  disastrous.
The weather was bitter, the gown no protection.
It was stained later, by a mishap with ink.
The boys weren’t impressed by my innocence
so nobody asked me to dance.

The Whirligig Wordle words (of which I used all but two) were: Shade   stain   lace   diaphanous    clip  iridescent  mottled   weatherdissonant   velour   purse  

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, story poems, wordles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Napowrimo 26 – Anticlimactic Wordle

  1. humbird says:

    First, love the observation ‘her purse must have been small’, and then the thought about neglection: why we always think that not good enough while those boys definitely were lower of level, in this situation.
    Thoughtful poem, clever use of words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. catterel says:

    Painful memories! I was a wallflower while my friend had the lads queuing up … she told me to look them in the eye and smile, which worked for her, but I was much too shy, and danced with another wallflower instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ron. says:

    Good one, V. As you know, I’m not much for using prompts–and especially these wordle thingies–but you always make the very best of them. My hat’s tipped.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bastet says:

    Oh my … what a sad tale … but you’ve written it beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mr. Walker says:

    Ah, boys… they’re often impressed by the wrong things. Love that second stanza – the contrast between the dress and the speaker.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. julespaige says:

    I remember my Senior Prom. I didn’t want to go at all. I didn’t pick the dress, or the hair style, or even the gent who my folks found to take me. But I was lucky enough to find true love later at another ‘dance’. 😉

    Thanks for visiting Mrs. Mary Mack.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. richard says:

    at that dance, I danced with the girl no one asked to dance.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jae Rose says:

    I hope the love stitched into the gown made up for the hoped for kiss

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You’ve painted such a clear picture, Viv! I enjoyed this so much…especially the descriptions of the dress…I’;d like to wear something like that some time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 1sojournal says:

    Really like the development here. And yes, I think we all have one of those memories stored in that long ago place of learning through experience.

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Cressida says:

    Horrible pimply boys ! I like the dress. They probably were intimidated by your elegance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Misky says:

    Such a sweet story, and one that I think every woman knows. >

    Liked by 1 person

  13. That’s rather sad. I hope it didn’t put her off evening balls for life!
    Keith’s Ramblings

    Liked by 1 person

  14. oldegg says:

    Often little disappointments as a teenager are in fact great lessons in life to come showing that all is not going to be easy. I am sure many of us have a similar story but one event such as this is later countered by better times and successes that are memorable too.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

