Napowrimo 22 – a Pastoral Poem

22.4.15 ready for planting

 

Oh how I wish for a ground hog day
just now as spring comes out to play
Pastoral scenic perfection
with delicate greens to delight,
backdrop of trees shimmering in pearly light.
A field of gold on the horizon,
with daisy and bluebell for decoration;
cherry pink foretaste of feast to come –
for the birds, not us, but who cares?
My joy is now, for a world in bloom.
Ephemeral beauty sings to me
but how I wish it could stay
for ever and ever enchanting,
perpetual ground hog day.

22.4.15  spring garden across the way

http://www.napowrimo.net/day-twenty-two/

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, Poems, sonnet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Napowrimo 22 – a Pastoral Poem

  1. I wish for those forever moments, too–on days like that. Knowing human nature, though, I imagine we’d get bored. Lovely photos and poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kelly says:

    to live in the land of possibility… yes. love the music in this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Spring goes by too quickly because we often think of it as a transition. We need to live in the moment of Spring. Lovely poem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You captured a beautiful day so well 🙂

    Like

  5. Aren’t we all in love with Spring? This is a romantic poem in that way, Viv. You are one of those connected-to-Nature people, and when you wax rhapsodic about the seasons, you touch that deep place of longing in all city dwellers like me. I saw a dandelion in my garden and actually spoke to it; I was that happy! Thanks. GREAT reading you again, my dear. Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ah.. there is a day when i too find a perpetual ground
    hog day.. but truly like the movie that becomes
    pain in another ground hog day..
    AKA Aghogday..
    And it’s not a movie
    it’s true.. one can google
    it and see this ground hog now changes..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glenn Buttkus says:

    A lovely lilting sentiment, a tip of your poet’s pen to Spring’s fecund spirit, but the thing about beauty, in all its forms, is we appreciate it more because it is temporal, fleeting, momentary, captured in our mind like a sunset. And this as it should be as we whirl often upside down on the wheel of Life.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. billgncs says:

    each year Spring renews us – as though it gives us leave to start our journey through life once more

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Prajakta says:

    Many spring poems tonight 🙂 And in the blazing summer here (touching 110), this feels like a cooling relaxing blanket I can lose myself in. Lovely words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. claudia says:

    smiles… i love spring.. and there are days i wouldn’t mind if they would repeat ever and ever… beautiful sunny day over here as well…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Misky says:

    Our apple trees are just about ready to bloom, and the grapevines are shooting buds, and we planted out begonia tubers yesterday. It’s here, Viv, it’s here.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. rosross says:

    Sometimes life feels like that but not enough, perhaps.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Mary says:

    There really is nothing as beautiful as a world in bloom!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Grace says:

    And you have captured a beautiful day ~ Love this part:

    My joy is now, for a world in bloom.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. kanzensakura says:

    If I could put time in a bottle – you have expressed that sentiment so beautifully. I’ve had days I wish I could string on a necklace, like different colored glass beads, to wear and to hold up and gaze at whenever I wished. Absolutely gorgeous. And speaking of ground hogs, LOL, we seem to be on a similar thought. I wrote about the Galloping Groundhog I saw today and he made me smile.

    Like

  16. colonialist says:

    You have certainly conveyed the heart’s response to one of those magical never-want-it-to-end days!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. hypercryptical says:

    Spring is a wonderful time, nature slipping on her lush green coat and sprinkling the world with new blossom. Lovely.
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love the spring so much more than any other season.. So I would love it to last a lot longer..

    Liked by 1 person

  19. catterel says:

    How generous of your neighbours to have netting and not a solid wall, so that others can enjoy this lovely sight.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. 1sojournal says:

    You did them justice and more, Viv. Love that final photo that underlines your poetic imagery. Thanks so much for participating in the challenge,

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Colleen@ LOOSELEAFNOTES says:

    We used to say it’s such a beautiful day we should bottle it.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I love your imagery and words…

    Your closing…

    “My joy is now, for a world in bloom.
    Ephemeral beauty sings to me
    but how I wish it could stay
    for ever and ever enchanting,
    perpetual ground hog day.”

    Yes, my sentiments exactly….after a taste of true spring it causes me to wonder how we endure.

    ♥ Happy after Earth Day to you, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

