Drowning Blogger Writes

Gloom and despair loom
so-called repair a failure
screenful of garbage

Nice young man restored my dead laptop to a semblance of life.  But what a life!  No Word – words fail me.  I have the receipt, but no code for Windows Office.  

Worse, on the so-called mended computer every time I go online I am showered with unwanted ads and suspicious-looking offers to repair Windows, none of which  goes away when I click the x – they just lurk behind the page I am using, slowing Lappy down to slower than dead snail’s pace.  When I went to shut down for the night, I found upwards of 20 sites open in a cascade – I close one and more pop up.  No wonder my regular trusted sites misbehaved.

So I’m back on Old Faithful, where most of the software is missing or corrupt and the speed not quite as fast as a live snail.

This may be my swansong.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in haiku and senryu, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Drowning Blogger Writes

  1. catterel says:

    I can only speak from my own experience, but I switched from Windows to a MacBookPro in 2010 with a special half-price offer, and have had no problems since.( I should touch wood there! Don’t want to tempt fate!) The iPad is great for lots of things but not really suitable for writing anything of any length. Plus a laptop takes up very little room. Certainly worth the outlay. (And I’m not being paid to advertise 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ron. says:

    Oh, say it isn’t so, V. I wish I could help. try somebody else. or….or… or… But don’t e-disappear.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sigh…I hope it will get better…Misky’s suggestions sound solid, too. Hugs for you and your Lappy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. catterel says:

    Get an Apple Mac, Viv – and that’s the voice of experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Misky says:

    Unfortunately it sounds like you still have a nasty on your computer. I’d take it back your nice young man, and tell him to try again.

    Like

  6. ladysighs says:

    Beware nice young men
    Bearing gifts of repairing
    Showers of sorrow

    Liked by 2 people

I love it when you leave a Reply

