Napo and PAD Day 7 … bad news

Malaevolent spirits have emptied the hard disk of my laptop destroyed all my files
 poems and pictures, and removed all the software.  It is dead.

The nice young man tells me this is the third he’s had like this in the last week,
despite my expensive AVG proessional anti virus protection.   He is trying surgery on the hard disk but doesn’t hold out much hope.

I don’t think I will  be finishing Napo or the PAD challenge.  Poetry is a long way from me at the moment.

Anti-Love Haiku

Hackers I hate you
Your futile malaevolence
has turned me sour.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, prose, rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Napo and PAD Day 7 … bad news

  1. colonialist says:

    Horrid. When there is a significant resource of stored material one should not only back it up, but store it in such a way that there is almost no possibility of both sets of data being lost – as happened with a friend of ours recently where the external hard drive backup was also stolen although in another location.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ron. says:

    Get me some names, V. I’ll kick some ass for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is sickening that you’ve fallen victim to callous vandalism, Viv. But you are a great lady who will come sailing back once the shock fades a little.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. catterel says:

    That’s terrible – I do hope you can retrieve it, or at least the really important stuff. Do you have some printouts at least? I have years of stuff on old-fashioned floppy disks and ZIP disks, which is also probably lost for ever, as I don’t know of anyone with a computer old enough to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jo Woolf says:

    Hoping that the guy can rescue something, Viv, but don’t let it stop your creativity or they really will have ‘won’. There are more poems in your head than you will ever lose!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. pherecrates1 says:

    Oh no, that’s awful. At least your backup is not too out of date but it’s still such an unnecessary pain to have to go through.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Viv–how horrible to be hacked and to have your Word docs corrupted. Why do people need to be so evil? You inspire me to back up my work now! Maybe your muse will hang around if you hand-write poetry while waiting for the cure!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Gosh! I feel so much for you! So much goes into our work, that’s why I have skydrive (called onedrive today) it really doesn’t cost that much a year & it’s well worth it.
    As an old timer I don’t trust much the virtual world so when I publish a post I put it on “words” print it out & classify it in a file.
    As I have my poetry,photography,paintings & natural recipes I feel it would be a shame to lose it all if anything happens…
    Best of luck! I hope your guy will be able to save it all 🙂

    Like

  9. I’m so ripping MAD!! This is so unfair…my heart breaks for your situation, Viv…utterly. Hugs to you and I’m SO sorry this has happened…nobody deserves it – least of all YOU. You’re a poetic gem and a Light in our community. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 1sojournal says:

    I commiserate with you. Lost my computer to lightning over a week ago. Although I now have a replacement, I’ve lost photoshop/kaleidoscope, the scanner on my printer, and my external storage drive. I get sick just thinking about it. I imagine you must feel worse. Yet, here we are, still putting down words, still speaking. That says something about us, and I like what it says.We will get through this and maybe even laugh about some of it some time in the future.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 2 people

  11. dorannrule says:

    Truly bad news as I was just started following you! I also have AVG…. now concerned. Thanks for sharing. Take heart though – the poetry always comes back.

    Like

  12. Misky says:

    A thousand curses on those people…

    >

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Andrew says:

    sorry to hear of your difficulties. Hopefully something can be recovered.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh NO! This is terrible news and a very good reminder for me to back up my latest lot of images.. Did you have a back up – My son suggests we put everything in the cloud – But i am not sure how to yet.. What bad luck for you.. c

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now that i think about it, we kind of do back our stuff up when we put it on the blog.. so years and years of your work is still out here with us.. though that is not much use at the moment. c

      Like

      • I last backed up two weeks ago, but have sent some competition entries since then! Yes the blog is a kind of backup, but it takes ages to use it, specially as Word isn’t there to copy stuff with.

        I’m hoping Sally can send me the material I sent her recently for my memoir collection.

        Liked by 2 people

  15. Sigh… So sorry, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ladysighs says:

    Very bad news. Sure hope something can be salvaged.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

