TRIOLET, The Song

More for the  Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild rhyme-fest

The Song

pine-siskin © dave-wendelken

I am the song that sings that little bird—
the one just there, the brown one, yellow wings;
the sweetest music I have ever heard.
I am the song that sings a little bird,
the notes so pure, yet trilling.  It’s absurd
how hard to quell the sadness when I sing
that lovely song that sings a little bird
to please me, that brown one with yellow wings.

VFB 6.6.2012
first line borrowed from Charles Causley.

The triolet is a very brief, tightly rhymed poem that, like the pantoum, takes part of its structure from the repetition of entire lines. A triolet is eight lines, as follows:

1st line A
2nd line B
3rd line a (rhymes with A)
4th line A (entire 1st line repeated)
5th line a (rhymes with A)
6th line b (rhymes with B)B)
7th line A (entire 1st line repeated)
8th line B (entire 2nd line repeated)

 

I had a couple of rondeaux ready for the final  fling for this rhyming prompt, but on re-reading, I decided they wouldn’t do.  I shall buckle down and try to write a better one for tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, re-blogs, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TRIOLET, The Song

  1. I love this one, Viv! It’s like music.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladysighs says:

    I like the Triolet. One more I am not familiar with. 😦 I may buckle down and try it, but not tomorrow. 🙂 Or the next day. lol

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

