Boondoggle

 

Margo Roby’s Tuesday Tryouts always comes up with intriguing prompts, but today is a doozie.  She wants us to choose a weird word, and take off from there.  I am a follower of Dictionary.com’s Word of the Day which comes to me by email, and whenever there’s one that catches my attention, I add it to a file which I open if I am at a loss what to write.  This one could not be more appropriate.

Boondoggle is a verb
that describes with aplomb
what I am doing now.
I’m pithering
and pottering,
mooching
and swithering,
wondering what to do
to occupy my time,
keeping busy just in case
you find me a job.

Boondoggle – A verb, defined as being to do work of little or no practical value
merely to keep or look busy
. 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in found poetry, free verse, Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Boondoggle

  1. judithhb says:

    I love Boondoggle – adding it to my list of special words.

    Like

  2. Luanne says:

    Love this, including the word and the comments above LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. margo roby says:

    It’s pithering and swithering, for me. Aren’t they gorgeous! Thanks for the new vocabulary, ViV. Warms my heart it does 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. well done! I am sitting and calling Revenue Canada every few minutes in an attempt to get through and ask a question, the answer to which I need in order to file our taxes. Boondoggling here in Canada!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I hear this word I always think of the government!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tialys says:

    I wished I’d known this word when I was working with the sort of people who would dash about the place, brandishing pieces of paper and saying ‘I’m just sooo busy’ without actually appearing to be doing any work. I could have told them to stop boondoggling!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

