6-word-saturday

Saved by brambles from motorised annihilation

The track

On my walk – which is a tortoise-paced wobble supported by two sticks  – last Sunday afternoon  I decided to take the track across the way to see what flowers were out.  The track is narrow and muddy, sunk between two high tree-lined banks as is usual in this part of the world.    During the Battle of Normandy in 1944 the Allies were bamboozled by enemy vehicles hiding in these tracks. 

I hadn’t gone very far when engine rumbling sounds approached.  I looked round and was horror-struck to see a line of off-road vehicles inexorably closing on me .   With no flat space either side, I made a scramble for the bank, hanging on for dear life by a bunch of brambles. Luckily I was wearing gloves.    With my ‘spare’ hand I jammed my sticks into the mud as extra support.

trackside bank 2

Unfortunately, I didn’t have a third hand to take my camera from my pocket to record the passing of 6 mud-encrusted Land Rovers and Jeeps so close to my bahooki that my jacket  caught momentarily on a wing mirror.  Each vehicle slowed, the window opened and a smiling Frenchman said a polite bonjour.   I was vociferously terrified but they pooh-poohed it.  One offered to give me a lift to the road (about two kilometres ahead) but I explained that I couldn’t walk that far, thanked him and declined.

When at last they had all passed, I inched sideways down the bank and made a beeline through the churned-up mud for home, thanking my lucky stars that I was still in one piece.  I cannot for the life of me see why anyone in their senses would enjoy such a pastime which destroys the peace of the countryside, endangers life and ruins the tracks for  farmers and walkers who use them.

Do go and see what others have been doing this week at Cate’s place.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, pictures, prose and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 6-word-saturday

  1. The worst I’ve seen of these hooray-henry morons was clutch of them driving along the bed of a small English river. Imagine the destruction of habitat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo Woolf says:

    Goodness, Viv! Sounds as if it could have been a lot worse, thanks to their consideration. A close shave. Next time you go for a walk you should say “I’m going off-roading”!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. judithhb says:

    it must be scary when you don’t have the full use of your legs to be confronted with a convoy driven by smiling (yet obviously crazy) Frenchmen. Take care out there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mlissabeth says:

    Glad you are okay. Snails-pace is what I do now, since the partial hip replacement.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gillena Cox says:

    good heavens, i’m glad you got away to safety

    have a nice weekend

    much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How frightening! I think off-roaders feel that because their vehicle has the capability they can go just where they like! There should be rules for where they can and cannot go.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Off-roading is the menace of our times. Happily though I’ve never had such a dramatic experience as yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kathe W. says:

    stupid machines driven by even more stupid humans….honestly what were they thinking….oh yeah they cannot think since they obviously don’t have brains. I would have been furious- you could have been hurt.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Karen S. says:

    Oh my heavens, just imagining how that could have played out. They should be terribly ashamed of their behavior and I’m hoping that this may have taught them a lesson, we can only pray that it did. We have areas around where I live that folks and mean machines have ripped up the area and risked life and limb and that is why the authorities have posted signs in areas such as that “No motorized Vehicles Allowed” although granted there are many who don’t obey the signs, but our fines have gotten mighty tough lately. Thank goodness you are okay, but horribly shaken I can imagine!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. restlessjo says:

    Cool greyness has descended on us and I’m not going anywhere I don’t have to go this weekend. I’ve cajoled Mick into much needed decorating so I’m keeping my head down and making the necessary cups of coffee. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    A harrowing tale indeed!

    Six Owlish Words

    Liked by 1 person

  12. b_y says:

    I don’t know which: terror or anger. Anger in the end.

    Viv, I read this in my email.
    Next message in line was the poem a day from poets.org–“Deep in the Quiet Wood” by James Weldon Johnson. Got to appreciate the juxtaposition.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ron. says:

    I empathize, V. I am (ie used-to-be) an avid snow shoe hiker, enjoying long walks in isolated woods in deep snow, and had to assiduously avoid the snow-machine trails. Inevitably, though, the best walks also paralleled the trails & some caravan of doofuses would happen along, frightening away all the birds & other wildlife, fouling the atmosphere with rank exhaust fumes, and looking at me like they couldn’t figure out why I was scowling at them & occasionally making an obscene gesture (when they needlessly revved their engines to impress me).

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

