Hippogriff

hippogriff
L’hippogriffe d’après un dessin de
 Gustave Doré pour le Roland furieux.

 Hippogriff

A foofaraw of wings and things
decorate the hippogriff,
epitome of heraldry,
legendary ancient myth,
one of those weird beings
beloved of historic fable,
issue from miscegenation
of  female horse with eagle.
The Hippogriff, courageous beast,-
rescued distressed maidens
by flying high and far and fast
to see off wicked Satans.

Ms Quickly is having such fun with her prompts, and it’s rubbed off on me.  I thought a hippogriff was a phonetic term (hypoglyph?) so I dived into Wikipedia to discover how wrong I could be.  A foofaraw is one of Dictionary.com’s words of the day, and means an excessive amount of decoration or ornamentation.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in ekphrastic poetry, rhyming poetry, short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hippogriff

  1. colonialist says:

    I have to admit the other hippy feature attracts some of my attention!
    Your subtle rhymes are growing on me. I note how often the matches are closer than they seem at first sight.

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    You are so clever with these, Viv! It’s a great image and your words are lyrical (and fun) 🙂

    Like

  3. whimsygizmo says:

    foofaraw? Are you kiddin’ me? You have just made my day!
    (And I love your piece!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. julespaige says:

    Well done. I think I learn more reading your piece, well because I only scanned Wiki.
    I looked at that entry too, but I came away with an addition to my story with Brian Strong.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pherecrates1 says:

    Yes ‘foofaraw’ is great. I thought it was a jaberwocky type term when I first saw it, it could so easily be a Lewis Carollism.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m with tia on “foofaraw!” What a great word. I love your poem Viv…delving into the mythical and relaying the purpose behind such fantastical creatures…I’ve always loved that realm!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. tialys says:

    Foofaraw – what a fantastic word! I must search for opportunities to use it immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

