Anthropocene in spondee

for Ms Quickly’s March 3  prompt

Greed grows
sews harm
mars all.

Takes, uncaring of the future.
Wastes resources and energy
in wanton consumption
negligent of consequence
for our descendants.

No rain
dust bowl
no food

outcome:  extinction.

 
The Anthropocene is an informal geologic chronological term for the proposed epoch that began when human activities had a significant global impact on the Earth‘s ecosystem

Spondee is a metrical foot consisting of two long syllables, of equal stress.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, politics, short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Anthropocene in spondee

  1. I love ‘sews harm’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    I read this one yesterday but didn’t ‘like’. Too sad 😦 Or do I just mean accurate?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love poetry and France! How have I missed your blog? Write on!

    Like

  4. Luanne says:

    My dear, I couldn’t resist a blog title with “spondee” in it! The poem is neat, but the content is scary and exactly where my mind has been going lately. Greed! Humans! Yikes!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

