Episode Wordle 201

 

Through hardened arteries and granite veins
blood circulates sluggishly, stops.
Consciousness fades and I howl with fear.
Through ghost memories of other times
I see my flesh on theatre table,
with needles and tubes, electronic flickering,
equipment for which I know no name.
Through whirling haze I feel the weight
of hands working on me – I push them away,
“Don’t do that” I say, ” I’m back now.”
Smiles all round.

 

A true story for Brenda’s Sunday Whirl.  I hope others are less gruesome.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, short poetry, story poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Episode Wordle 201

  1. So glad you are back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Has the scary ring of truth.

    Like

  3. Gillena Cox says:

    you’re back; this made me remember coming out of surgery experiences
    have a good week

    http://myblog-verses.blogspot.com/2015/03/29.html

    much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bastet says:

    A harrowing vision and you’ve laid it out very graphically … got cold sweats here. Well written!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wonder just how often that happens. One hopes everyone in that situation comes back in time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    To drift away, and then to drift back again must be a delight beyond measure!

    Whirling for Good or Ill

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow is the best word I can muster to express what your poem evoked in me.
    Nice job!
    Randy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tialys says:

    Scary! I’m glad you got back.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. 1sojournal says:

    Frightening, indeed. But, I’m glad you were ornery enough to come back and let them know you were there, lol.

    Elizabeth
    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2015/03/01/mythopoesis/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mlissabeth says:

    I am glad you are back, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jae Rose says:

    Well..i am very glad you are back! your poem certainly made my heart beat faster too..

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Misky says:

    I’m hoping you didn’t actually experience this, Viv. >

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

