Viva la Volta

Bjorn at dVerse tonight is talking about that wonderful poetic device, the volta – I suppose “about face” describes it.  Long ago I wrote a sonnet called Viva la Volta, which I can’t find anywhere.  A couple of years ago it was turned into a Rondeau for dVerse, and you’ll find it here.     I’d like to write a new one, but my poetic oomph seems to have deserted me of late, so here’s another oldie which is one of my favourites.   It has a very distinct sestet volta.

Night thoughts  – a Petrarchan Sonnet

As I was lying in my cosy bed
I thanked the Lord for giving me such warmth,
and shelter from the havoc of the storm
in comfort in my hilltop home.  I said
my prayers of gratitude as aforesaid.
Thankfulness for bounty is the norm
for every caring person, to transform
a grumpy-guts to happy bunny.  Instead

of self-congratulation, thoughts of others
who do not have the haven of a home—
of prisoners of conscience, dispossessed,
or  orphans cruelly deprived of mothers,
of  people tyrannised, oppressed, alone—
aroused my anger, would not let me rest.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, re-blogs, rhyming poetry, sonnet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Viva la Volta

  1. I like how you almost lulled me with your first stanza and almost a slap across my face, demanding I wake up. Powerful stuff.

    Like

  2. ds says:

    A complete about-face. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thankfulness and deep concern for those less fortunate seem rare commodities at times these days. Thank you for expressing both so well. Peace, Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sabio Lantz says:

    Interesting how you showed the down side of a virtue — or this wrong application of a virtue?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Misky says:

    Nicely done, and the turn at the end really concentrates its essence. >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Oh, very nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. wolfsrosebud says:

    so liked how you turned this around… I’d prefer the cup half full instead of half empty… nice job

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a great turn here, and I think a turn that only then can we be truly thankful for what we got. Maybe even do some changes with that anger.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. claudia says:

    that is quite a turn here… from the cosy place to caring for others so much that it makes you sleepless… and i agree with bri… a little righteous anger is not a bad thing at all

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mary says:

    Excellent contrast between the first and second stanzas, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. dkirkstokes says:

    Imagine having no home in Winter, a winter as cold as this one has been. How can any of us rest, when our fellow beings suffer? By ignoring it, by shutting it out, by being less than human…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I like your painting yourself in that cozy hilltop home with view of streets and other hilltops as I imagine and then the powerful turn of thought and mine and you take us to the dispossessed, the impoverished, the outcasts. Beautiful work beautifully wrought.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. kanzensakura says:

    What a wonderful prayer of gratitude because it also remembers those less forturnate. Excellent rhyme and rhythm and structure. It is a goodie!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. love the turn… ugh, yes – especially during winter, the homeless are heavy on my mind.. I can’t help but to feel hurt for those without basic needs, all while being thankful for my own.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Susan Chast says:

    The contrast is great! I also might wish to rest but be kept awake by inequities and emotions.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. brian miller says:

    a very distinct about face….if we remember — thankfulness for sure,
    but turning our thoughts to others who are not as blessed or lucky as us
    and thought too on why and how they may have gotten there
    it pings the heart…and a little righteous anger is not a bad thing.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

