A Prayer

O God of mercy, where’s your heart
to let your people suffer so? Start
to put our house in order please.
It shouldn’t be so very hard

for you, who made the earth, the trees
the birds, the beasts and teeming seas
and all the beauty of the earth,
to find a cure for dread disease

and other ills.   For man perverse
could do with your attention, thirst
and hunger loom with climate change,
greed, injustice, war and worse.

Could not a remedy be arranged?
With all your power it is so strange
that death, disease and misery,
sin and evil still derange

creation.  The world is on the slippery
slope to annihilation – a mystery
how we ever came this far
considering the history

of man so flawed,  design bizarre
with imperfections from the start,
spoiled and therefore doomed to failure
Oh Lord, save us, have a heart.

I was in two minds about posting this, I know it is trite and simplistic, but it does reflect how I feel at the moment.  I have two friends and a nephew desperately ill, and the world news of terrorism, torture and fighting makes me ache for the innocent.  The rhyming iambic tetrameter form was laid down in a dVerse prompt, which uses Robert Frost’s wonderful poem STOPPING BY WOODS ON A SNOWY EVENING as a starting point.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, rants, really bad poem, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Prayer

  1. hypercryptical says:

    Well done. Your words are my truth, I do so worry for mankind and this world of ours. I worry most for my children and grandchild – selfishly, I hope I will be long gone before mankind implodes on itself.
    I echo Bjorn,s last sentence too…
    Anna :o]

    Like

  2. Sabio Lantz says:

    Nicely done, Viv!
    You stuck to the form very, very nicely and tucked in ton of heavy meaning. Superb.
    It is never trite to protest
    the mythical all-caring, all-powerful
    interventional gods created over the last couple thousand years.

    It is all insane, if we assume such a god.
    And though still sad and ugly without such a lie, we then don’t need to hold bitter feelings, thoughts of being cheated, doubts of punishment and so many other temptations the unfortunate theist must wrestle with.

    Voltaire (1759), like you, used his character “Candide” to superbly illustrate the stupidity of the Christian theodicy of his time, even the author of Job wrestled (but his work may have been tampered with to offer more sanitary solutions). So you are in good company.

    Some solutions have been to make a non-personal god, but that robs believers of miracles and hope — for who wants to worship a god who won’t protect your from disease, suffering and such. A magic god is so enticing.

    Some make a god that loves us, but never shows it and lets the horror of nature and other people destroy us as he/she watches with pity but love. Again, not satisfying.

    Some give the trite “free will” solution which is nonsense, because volcanoes, tsunamis and viruses do not have free will. God could have given us free will and controlled natural disasters. Heck, he could have given people free will and just evaporate them right before they hurt others. But either God is impotent or stupid — it is clear.

    Most, to keep their god, say (as you hint), that it is a “mystery”. Again, dissatisfying to all of us who are not culturally invested in protecting the mythical theist god.

    I am sorry for the suffering about you, and wish you some measure of happiness a midst it

    Again, well captured feelings. Your protest is perfect.

    Sorry for the supportive long rant, but you inspired it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kathy Reed says:

    The reality bites are horrific, the poem a success in putting things in order; I fear however,
    our ducks will only be in a row when our turn is up..and God and his newer generations resolve all the problems of the world…someday maybe, possibly?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. catterel says:

    Everything I was going to say has been said by those above 🙂 so I’ll just say hear, hear!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So true… I wonder sometimes myself… It’s hard to have faith sometimes; but if it was easy, it wouldn’t be worth holding on to…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. In my opinion, honest and invigorating in its truths. Well done, Viv! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well done, Viv. I am so sorry for your ill loved ones. I agree with every sentiment given here, especially in the comments, God must look down in wonderment at the mess humans have made of it. I do wish He could cure the ill though. I ache for the innocent too and the news makes me gnash my teeth, what teeth I have left, LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. claudia says:

    that sounds like a psalm and i love how you wove in the emotion and didn’t bow to the form… love the extension as well… felt piece viv

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I loved this Viv. Wrapping your lines and sentence endings mid-line work well to eliminate that “doggerel” effect. But as for being “simplistic”, I know what you meant, that the topic is vast, and in a few lines it seems difficult to compact and elucidate it; nevertheless you did it.

    Frost, himself, it seems to me was ever striving to simplify – to get language in common terms, to make poetry live for everyman. He did not write for scholarly journals, he used metaphors and rhyme schemes that stuck and informed – so well seen in Snowy Woods and in Two Roads Diverged. I think keeping the emotions open, the language straightforward, and getting to the nugget of truth is the most difficult to write and yet marks the most successful poems. I believe your poem today qualifies in that very regard. It shoots straight from the heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The feelings are all there. Dutch philosopher of religion Willem Zuurdeeg’s unfinished manuscript was published posthumously with the title “Man Before Chaos: Philosophy Is Born in a Cry.” It is the cry of the vulnerable infant and the cry continues throughout our lives. The cry for meaning, a safe haven, courage, hope, relief from despair, healing and all the rest. Spending the day yesterday in a nature preserve among the water fowl in Florida, I could’t help but notice how loud and intrusive my species was in this natural habitat. The birds seemed far superior to those of us on the boardwalk through the wetlands. Thank you for this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. brian miller says:

    so you did an extended one beyond the four stanzas…i like it, it gives you a bit more room to play…i can relate to the feeling…i guess this is when free will comes into play…we muck it up and expect god to save us from our own folly…we cant expect that…grace is there, but grace does not absolve us of facing the consequences of our actions…

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Misky says:

    It’s not trite nor simplistic, Viv. Things are in a dreadful state, and I don’t think any human-source can help us out of it. >

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Grace says:

    I hear your sentiments & prayers for the innocents Viv ~ Man has wasted the gifts of nature and I don’t blame you for asking God to save us ~ I admire your rhyming scheme, it is consistent in all 6 stanzas ~ Good work ~

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I have similar feelings .. I think the earth will do okay though.. just have to get rid of the parasitic breed that is currently running towards the abyss like crazy lemmings.. But like a Phoenix mother earth will rise again once we have killed ourselves… sad thoughts but alas I think it’s true.

    Liked by 2 people

I love it when you leave a Reply

