Hair today, Gone Tomorrow

 

Child Cruelty, or Aint She Sweet?

Glossy brown sausage curls
bobbed around the infant features,
saccharine image of appealing cuteness
masked the nights of torture
suffered to achieve the look.

Strips of torn-up worn out cotton nightie
wound tightly round long strands of hair
were tied with granny knot.
The child was left to toss and turn,
restless, through the night.

More torture, as the strips unwound,
long ringlets arranged to form a frame,
secured with slippery satin bow, lost by lunchtime.
Unruly curls dipped into cabbage and gravy
arousing teacher’s ire each day.

Words were penned in angry note
requesting that child’s hair be cut –
salvation for afflicted child,
and so goodbye to Mother’s Pride.

Mother’s Pride was a leading brand of sliced white bread.
This heartfelt memory was written for the prompt to write a poem about hair at dVerse Poets’ Pub.  

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Hair today, Gone Tomorrow

  1. Poor Viv!

    Until the day she died, my Nan put pipe cleaners in her hair every night, whilst having a last cup of tea and watching News At Ten. Thanks for the happy memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. claudia says:

    oh heck… yeah… long hair can be a burden if it’s very curly and easily tangled… i remember a holiday on the north sea with long curly hair still – and the wind – i needed forever to get all the knots out in the evening… now they’re short – and easy to handle..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hair can be a blessing or a curse and parents don’t always listen. Nice share.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary says:

    There definitely is something more comfortable about short hair!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kanzensakura says:

    Now as an adult, my hair is long and usually in a braid. But it only takes about 5 minutes to pin it up. I remember the hell as a teen with those horrible pastel plastic rollers though…..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I see above this was about you. I’m glad the teacher complained on your behalf… and that your mother listened! Nice poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ah.. the desires of the parent not reaching the reality of the child.. my sister’s quest was pants instead of skirts.. and i kinda liked longer hair than my mother did.. when a younger age as well..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ugh, long hair is no joke… I grow tired of my hair at times and buzz it in a fit of frustration… then let it grow when I start to miss it… weird, aye?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That brings back memories for me!

    Like

  10. rosross says:

    I love that, hair today, gone tomorrow. It made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. brian miller says:

    oy. a prickly question…i have def seen parents play out their childhood visions in their children…even to the detriment of the child…seriously if the child is miserable give her some relief…..

    Like

  12. catterel says:

    My cousin had big blue eyes, cupid bow lips and long blond ringlets, and I was so envious until I stayed over and realised what torture she had to endure at night! She was so happy when she came to stay with me and my mother just plaited her hair instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Misky says:

    Same thing here. Except my mother uses strips of old bedsheets. I used to cry my eyes out every night… >

    Liked by 1 person

  14. MarinaSofia says:

    I cut my fringe off with nail-scissors aged 5 or so, because I was sick and tired of people petting me on my fringe and saying – what a good little girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ha. I remember how my sisters hair was the source of my parents concern… the longer the better…. I so recall that she finally was allowed to cut it.. but adding curls to that. What torture (maybe it’s better to be boy).

    Like

  16. tialys says:

    Shirley Temple had a lot to answer for!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

