6-word-saturday – quilty experiment?

Foundation piecing?  Not me.  Never again.

I posted the first part of this experiment here.  I had another go at it today and managed to finish the four component parts of the star and sew them together after a fashion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The faffing about, the inaccuracy, and the end result made me vow never again to attempt foundation piecing.  I could have made the block much quicker and more accurately using traditional methods.  This one will probably be finished  as a mat to put under the teapot – that’s if I can bear to look at it again!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 6-word-saturday – quilty experiment?

  1. Kathe W. says:

    wow I am impressed at your patience….I just make up my own way of making quilts and am happy for it!

    Like

  2. catterel says:

    Very pretty materials and shapes all the same.

    Like

  3. I think it’s lovely! But it is not for me either! 🙂

    Like

  4. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    To my inexpert eye it looks lovely. I guess you just have to label it a learning experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Suzy says:

    Looks pretty good to me. Sometimes imperfections create interesting visuals.

    Like

  6. Rosemary Bimson says:

    My very first quilting project, a quillo, was foundation pieced and I found it very satisfying as the line was already their for me and it took out all the worry of wonky lines. Have you tried googling ‘foundation piecing’. There’s a YouTube video on it. Maybe you will be able to see what or where you are going wrong. I’m going to attempt a scrappy quilt this way using the Pineapple block. Will let you know how I get on.

    Like

  7. I love a real, hand-sewn quilt!

    Like

  8. Mlissabeth says:

    Sometimes traditional ways are the best. 😉

    Like

  9. Tonya Jastad says:

    Since I can’t sew a button on, really I can’t, I think it looks great and who can’t use another pot holder? 🙂

    Like

  10. middlegirl54 says:

    I said pretty much the same thing about preparing chit’lins.

    Like

  11. Karen S. says:

    I so enjoy, but rarely master sewing of any sorts without much trial and error! I am still learning! Yikes. All we can do is give it our best, hope the best and enjoy!

    Like

  12. restlessjo says:

    Tialys said it so well, Viv! 🙂 And it raised a much needed smile. I haven’t got around to posting yet. Bit of a traumatic day or so and I’m running late. Nothing serious- just life and its frustrations, about which you are well informed 🙂 Hopefully I’ll be there later.

    Like

  13. its not my favourite technique either

    Brenda in the Boro

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ron. says:

    I dunno…it looks good to me, V. Of course I can’t properly hem my own pants, so….

    Like

  15. thehutts says:

    Does Jock have the mathematical brain to help piece them together? The old method of tacking on around paper and hand sewing was certainly easier to get right. Sally

    Like

  16. Romi says:

    I would prefer traditional methods, too.

    Like

  17. tialys says:

    Your six words are much more printable than the six I might have used. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

