quilty experiment

My fear of foundation patchwork was confronted this morning.  I had a go once before, and succeeded in making a teacosy before chickening out again.  Last week my computer printer jammed solid and was taken off to the nice repair man in town, so no new  printing of foundation blocks was possible, but four printed blocks OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA have been staring accusingly at me for long enough.

A trial run square encouraged me to have another go. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The scrap bin yelled at me:  use us. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The next step was an unmitigated disaster OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA For non quilters, I should explain that the stitching is done on the paper side, so bumfles (a lovely Scottish word) are only too frequent. I loathe unpicking, but cussedness set in and I had another go:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA At this point, Jock shouted “tea’s up” so the struggle was abandoned for another day.   Watch this space.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in pictures, quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to quilty experiment

  1. Well, that first square is so pretty, I’m already coveting what it’s going to become.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE this, Viv…you cause me to want to be crafty – inspiring! 🙂

    Like

  3. Dorrit says:

    It looks like it is teasing you alot. But it also looks like you sew on the side not lined of the paper? I don’t have problems with my pp, because I have the fabric on the side of the paper not lined.

    Like

  4. restlessjo says:

    The trial run looks pretty 🙂

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    Wow. Watching…. xxx >

    Like

  6. tialys says:

    Hmmm… The first quilt I ever made was a sampler quilt so each block was different. I do believe one of them was foundation pieced and, funnily enough, I don’t think I’ve ever done another 😉 I know it looks brilliant when it’s done but getting there is a bit of a faff. Just thinking about it makes me want a cup of tea. Bon courage!

    Liked by 2 people

I love it when you leave a Reply

