Goodbye and thank you.

 

Prompt sites come,
prompt sites go,
and nothing stays the same.
They draw poets everywhere
to gather round the flame
of inspiration for a while
and then we’re left bereft.
Two favourites are gone today*
to leave a great big hole.
Is this the end of poetry?
Red Wolf Poems, successor to Writers Island and We Write Poems, and Creative Bloomings, successor to Poetic Bloomings, are shutting their doors today.  I only managed to use two of Red Wolf’s Wordle words, and one of those was orange! 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Goodbye and thank you.

  1. colonialist says:

    They didn’t even thank you for the fish?
    One wonders why to push off is their wish.

    Like

  2. “Prompt sites come,
    prompt sites go,
    and nothing stays the same,”
    but the bereft poets go on
    because they can do no other.
    Be well. Happy New Year.

    Like

  3. I don’t think it is the end of poetry but it sure feels like it. Wonderful write, Viv, from the heart.

    Like

  4. What a perfect expression of a poetic good-bye to two sites who touched you. I love your resolutions for a poetic memoir. Could I borrow it? One thing I need to do, which I abhor, is to try to market my new novel. And I would like to do another book of poetry.

    Like

  5. Viv…I share these sentiments…it’s sure a strange feeling…there will be lots of empty windows where these sites once inspired poetry for me, (and many), on a weekly basis…at least four poems worth a week…sigh…I don’t really want to look elsewhere either…such a creature of habit, I guess.

    I’m so grateful to them all and to the community as well…it takes a great deal of commitment to carry on for so long.

    I’m sure we’ll all bump into each-other all over the poetic places though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kaykuala h says:

    Yes things come and go! But they were great. Wordles were always a great challenge! Wonderful but sad write Viv!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Irene says:

    It sure is orange. Didn’t know about Creative Bloomings.. Thank you Viv. Wishing you a happy new shiny 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Misky says:

    A lovely poem for a sad occasion. Happy new year, Viv. xx >

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Marie Elena says:

    Viv, your words brought tears to my eyes this morning. So very sweet and humbling. I can’t thank you enough for the beauty and encouragement you personally brought to Bloomings. Hugs across the miles to you.

    Liked by 2 people

I love it when you leave a Reply

