A cynical Wordle

A cynical wordle

One silent night in winter
a stray star announced
the arrival of a holy child
alone fulfilling prophesy,
gave birth to a tradition of celebration.
To the chime of bells,
commercial rejoicing ensued.
Pale Scrooges sighed,
bah humbugging in jest,
laughing, rubbing their hands
in anticipation of the bonanza.

 

Wordle 193: you will find less cynicism and more poetry at Brenda’s Sunday 

I took liberties with ingest and scar, and my poem  was produced with great difficulty, my computer having decided to ignore the “insert” button and overwrite every mistake and second thought.  How do I revert to the situation ante bellum? I’ve pressed the button until I’m blue in the face, but it refuses to co-operate.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, humour, wordles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A cynical Wordle

  1. Pamela says:

    Cynical, but it is true. Everything is lost on Christmas except the greed of merchants selling their junk. I am wishing you wonderful and happy new year, Viv.

    Love,
    Pamela ox

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Cynical yes, but so right on the money (intended) Love this one Viv…it cuts through all the bull…Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Shawna says:

    Man, are you right about that! It’s a mockery of all Jesus would really want us to spend our time, money, and energies on.

    Like

  4. Christmas has turned into two disparate celebrations today. I know which I value the most. Happy New Year!

    Like

  5. humbird says:

    Oh, this is he funny one! Enjoyed much! May new year brings you much of inspiration! x

    Like

  6. kaykuala h says:

    What a shame. Got it sometime earlier too It gets very unsettling. Hoping it’ll turn out ok! Very appropriate write for the festive joy!

    Hank

    Like

  7. catterel says:

    When “they” announced Christmas was to be replaced with Winterval a few years ago, I objected – but now I think “they” were right: Christmas has gone back to being a 21st-century Saturnalia.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jae Rose says:

    Cynical or true (for many at least)…it’s all so soulless Black Friday…panic Saturday..nothing beats sitting quietly at home and observing it on the TV from a safe distance..happy new year to you..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The Real Cie says:

    Cynical yes, but I know that feel! I’m always glad when the winter holidays are over.
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/12/hidden-treasure.html

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

