Junk the Jargon

Situations Vacant (Help needed)
Translator/interpreter required
by plain-English-speaking staff
to disentangle
inter-office memoranda and incoming mail
and interpret at management meetings
Sense of humour essential.
Remuneration (pay) generous.
Wig provided when all hair has been torn out.

 

 

Tony Maude at The poets’ Pub is on the case, wanting us to debunk the jargon.  When I left my teaching job at Seychelles Polytechnic, my boss, the Head of Business Studies, gave me a giant card, with three columns of buzz words – verbs, nouns and adjectives,  with instructions to perm any one from each column, as a gentle jibe at my renowned antipathy to jargon.  Unfortunately the card has been lost in one of our many moves, hence my contribution to the day’s fun.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, really bad poem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Junk the Jargon

  1. If only every business had such a position 🙂

    Like

  2. kaykuala h says:

    Hilarious Viv! You’ve captured most accurately how life is when officialdom demands .Yes, someone should advertise that way to show how ridiculous office talk is!

    Hank

    Like

  3. Bryan Ens says:

    Great poem… and that last line made me glad I hasn’t just taken a drink of coffee, because it would have been all over my screen 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. zongrik says:

    if u don’t have a sense of humor in the business world you r toast.

    focused implementation

    Like

  5. claudia says:

    haha…Sense of humour essential… oh i would agree… in some meetings you can def. think the people are talking a different language

    Like

  6. Ha.. actually I have noticed that many managers are bald.. hmm could they tear their hair when nobody is around?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tony Maude says:

    Would a Star Trek universal translator be of any assistance in helping us to understand what people are trying to not say, I wonder. Nice job ad, Viv, but I’ll not be applying.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Anita says:

    The last line has me smiling 🙂
    Jargons do that to us- we tear our hair to figure out!!!

    Like

  9. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Jargon is like code to each group we encounter. I swear if we could just find our old Buck Rogers decoding ring with matching lunchbox, we might have a chance to understand the techno-speak world we inhabit. Remember when President Carter tried to demystify government-speak?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. MarinaSofia says:

    I agree – you really do need an interpreter to navigate through these treacherous waters. Mind you, I’ve discovered the publishing world has its own jargon, with YA, NA, high-concept, women’s fiction, self-publishing lingo etc.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

