Quilty things

I posted a WIP a while back, but forgot to give you a picture when the quilt was finished last week.  I’ve called it  Topsy, because it “just growed” Having started with a simple block, I didn’t know where to go with it next.  Faute de mieux, I continued adding borders until it covered me in the chair where I was sewing!  It’s the warmest quilt I’ve ever made,
as the middle layer is a 3-layer fleece quilt that came as a freebie.  It’s fairly thick, which made it hard work to hand quilt, so I kept the stitching to a minimum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASince then, I’ve made a fabric ball for a baby, pentagons in the old English Patchwork Piecing method over paper.  What next?  Do I feel a scrap quilt coming on? OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in quilts and pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quilty things

  1. Romi says:

    The quilt is gorgeous, and the ball is lovely. Thank you for sharing your photos.

    Like

  2. I always, always enjoy your quilty posts, Viv!! Brilliant work and the ball for baby…SO precious! 🙂

    Like

  3. katechiconi says:

    Beautiful quilt, Viv, I can see it must have been lots of work. I love the colours and fabrics you suggested for the little hexie ball – I hope it’s given you a taste for more!

    Like

    • Lots of work, and it took three times as long as usual because I couldn’t work for long at a time. I’ve spent the evening chain stitching over all the seams in the ball in silk, because I wasn’t happy about the visibility of the joining stitches.

      Like

  4. Rosemary Bimson says:

    Lovely work Viv. I have recently bought a Horn sewing cabinet, from E-Bay, to put into my sewing room so now have no excuse for not sewing. Went to the Knitting and Stitching show in Harrogate at the weekend and saw a quilt, using scrapes, which has enthused me to use mine. I’m not good at this as I have always thought that you don’t put patterns together, so it’s outside my comfort zone. Will keep you updated on its progresss.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scrapes? Patterns together can work spectacularly, but they do need a lot of care in choosing. I made a successful table cover using all Liberty prints in 1″ squares, shading them like a Deirdre Amsden watercolour quilt. The quilt has been in constant use for more than 20 years, and is a little faded, but still one of my favourites.

      Are you still on the boat?

      Like

  5. catterel says:

    Really beautiful – I don’t know how you manage without a frame!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t use a frame – I like the quilt to remain flexible when hand quilting. I do stretch the three layers separately and hold them taut with masking tape when doing the layering using 555 glue. My days of tacking a big quilt by crawling all over it are long gone, but I do baste the outer edge all round.

      Like

  6. restlessjo says:

    It looks beautiful, Viv 🙂

    Like

  7. Misky says:

    So incredibly beautiful!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

