Perspective

image from BBC News

image from BBC News

 

Flames roaring through the roof
cut to interior shot of rubble.
The most iconic landmark
in a lifetime of icons –
a tragic end.

A fag-end on the lunchtime news
overheard today appalled me.
I thought it today’s news.
Still tragic, but I found
destruction of this
art   nouveau
masterpiece
happened
in May.

Forensic archaeologists called in,
sadness turns to anger
that no sprinklers
were in place.

Margo Roby gave us an intriguing prompt today:  Choose an event, or a setting. I want your narrator to consider the chosen item from a specific place. You need to let us know, without shoving it in our faces, where the place is in terms of its relationship to what the narrator is going to talk about, or describe.

too close

Change the narrator’s view. Alter the angle or the distance and have your narrator discover something they hadn’t seen or known before about what it is they are describing.Is there a significance, or an epiphany, with the new perspective?

In case you’re wondering, the building was the Glasgow School of Art, designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Perspective

  1. margo roby says:

    I remember this. So many stories, thus perspectives, wrapped up in this event.

    Like

  2. margo roby says:

    I got angry all over again. I had forgotten about the sprinklers, only remembering to mourn the loss.

    Like

  3. What a pity and all lost to a cigarette…Boo.

    Nice work with the prompt, Viv!

    Like

  4. Jo Woolf says:

    I remember this, Viv, and yes, it was very sad. I think they have managed to save the structure, though. It could have been a lot worse, I believe!

    Like

  5. Well told story Viv. So so sad.

    Like

  6. I remember this happening. Was it really caused by a cigarette? What a stupid waste.

    Like

  7. How sad. Some things, places, are just irreplaceable. No sprinklers? yikes. Some appalling budget cutting or an oversight?

    Like

  8. Misky says:

    I like the architectural structure of your poem, as well as its content. The good news, if you can call it that, is that full restoration should be possible.

    >

    Like

  9. julespaige says:

    Oh, how sad. Hopefully there will be some effort at restoration and rebuilding.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

