6-word-Saturday

I’ve  never seen so much gore

as there was in the Pierce Brosnan film November Man.  Not usually my cup of tea, but the film was so exciting that my horror receded!  Produced by Brosnan, the film could have been a James Bond by any other name – the plot was convoluted spy stuff, well worked out to a satisfying conclusion in Belgrade, with  beautiful girls, lots of chases on foot and by car, naughty bits and a plethora of bodies.

We took our  neighbour from Cerisy, who comes to us for English conversation lessons, and she said it was “her sort of film”.  

The Cinema de la Plage at Hauteville sur Mer is small, modern, and very comfortable. Once a month they put on films in VO (original language with French subtitles) largely for the Brits living in the region.  The showing concludes with a free cup of tea or coffee and chocolate biscuits in the lobby.   We don’t go out a lot, but we’ve seen some terrific films there – Calendar Girls, Ladies in Lavender, Billy Elliott, Skyfall.  Next month we are promised the award-winning Mister Turner, with Timothy Spall.  Not to be missed. 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. ms pie says:

    overall sounds like a great evening of entertainment

    Like

  2. Hilary says:

    I don’t remember the last time I went to a movie…

    Like

  3. Romi says:

    Going to the movies is a lot of fun. I would like to see “Interstellar” soon.

    Like

  4. Allison says:

    Not a fan of gore! Still, I do like Brosnan and James Bond style of movies.

    Of the other films you’ve mentioned, I’ve only seen Skyfall. If I recall correctly, I liked it.

    Like

  5. Judy says:

    Not a film buff however saw an amateur “Cabaret” last night.

    Like

  6. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Glad you enjoyed the film, gore and all!

    Like

  7. Karen S. says:

    How wonderful, I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I haven’t seen it yet, but plan to! He’s one of my favorite actors and he hasn’t been in a film yet that I didn’t enjoy!

    Like

  8. Jim says:

    Sorry, Viv. I don’t go to war movies or gory ones. Too bad this one had so many bad scenes.
    I like your “Gallery” poem that you posted earlier. You hit it right as to why we have the saying of ‘painting things over.’ Hide the bad and make things look better.
    ..

    Like

  9. Ron. says:

    Sounds like a good evening out, V, esp the post-cinematic coffee & biscuit. Good reason to get up & out.

    Like

  10. restlessjo says:

    Sounds like fun, and company is always good 🙂

    Like

  11. The film does sound rather gruesome. I love the idea of a cup of tea and a biscuit after the show!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

