Gallery

On the surface all is beauty,
but the first picture is blurry,
fuzzy with imprecision.
The lines are not clear –
it could be anything or nothing,~
treachery is merely implied.

The next is surreal as Dali.
Thoughts fly above the subject’s head
in distorted profusion, but clear
in intention.  This man emanates evil.

A landscape follows, calm, serene
concealing the world of the wild
where all is predator or prey.
Art is not reality, paint is not truth.

 

Victoria’s prompt at dVerse intrigued me, it asks for art as  metaphor.  As you know, metaphor is not in my armoury, so I may have got this entirely wrong.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in ekphrastic poetry, free verse. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Gallery

  1. art is not reality, paint is not truth . . . I think it all depends on the viewer and what they are able to gleam from it.

    Like

  2. billgncs says:

    the artist freezes us to be forever judged by posterity – a great power indeed

    Like

  3. peach blossom moth says:

    Great closing line.

    Like

  4. Kathy Reed says:

    Galleries, museums,,give one a jolt sometimes…bombarded with so many different styles and perspectives….each one is a voice…but does it speak to your or not is the question I guess ..nice.

    Like

  5. This vignette took me back to my many walks through museums and art galleries, the art the conveys something to me, that unlocks feeling next to pieces that leave me cold. Perhaps each piece of art is truth to someone but certainly not to everyone.

    janet

    Like

  6. wolfsrosebud says:

    the cloudiness of reality… a picture sometime so much nicer

    Like

  7. Wonderful last line, Viv.

    Like

  8. I would say sometimes it’s wise and see the reality beyond the painted canvas… to be lost inside could lead to all kind of dark paths…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. BTW–I really thought you would write to quilting!

    Like

  10. A gallery setting is a great idea for this–and the range of emotions it evokes can be a bipolar experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wonderful words and imagination you have.

    I like this piece very much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love it, especially “art is not reality, paint is not truth.”

    Liked by 1 person

  13. For me, this poem breathes in a dream-like way…flowing from image to meaning and back to image…I enjoyed this, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. claudia says:

    love me a walk through a gallery… all the different painters and styles… sometimes i wonder how honest they have been… maybe some have bent under the pressure to paint what pleases to be able to earn a living… others took the risk to be misunderstood and painted what was on their heart

    Like

  15. Sabio Lantz says:

    Fascinating metaphorish piece.
    Dark, pessimistic — or at least my take.
    If the final kill is everything, then life is a joke.
    If the moments matter, the colorful strokes, the textures and laughing paints,
    then reality is an art, no?

    But maybe you were talking about a particular painting?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Misky says:

    … And that’s the truth, my friend!

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

