Wordle 186 – a ditty

At the crossroads one night
with the moon shining bright –
what dreadful doggerel I  write –
darn it, I’ve lost the thread
of the story I had in my head.
I’ll start it all over again.
No I won’t – too mundane –
I’ll try and think of another.

Birds flew overhead.
From the grave of the dead
came a spine-chilling howl.
Was it an owl?
No, ‘twas a vole in the mud,
despatched in cold blood
by that raptor,
his captor,
who rose triumphant
while the moon was refulgent.
Oh dear, I’ve done it again.

Suicidal sortie
to eat or be eaten –
the law of the wild wood
destroys childhood illusion –
to end this effusion –
a foregone conclusion.
 

You stand a chance of reading better poetry at Brenda’s Sunday Whirl

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in longer poems, nature poems, nonsense poems, really bad poem, rhyming poetry, story poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wordle 186 – a ditty

  1. I think I got right inside your head, Viv. I’m hoping, within the next week or so, to get back into writing. I’ve been through 2 months of chaos and a drought of creative energy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. peach blossom moth says:

    I love the way this sounds:
    “No, ‘twas a vole in the mud,
    despatched in cold blood
    by that raptor,
    his captor”

    Like

  3. Cathy says:

    brilliantly done

    Like

  4. This “ditty” reads like you had a good time writing it . Fun to read, also!

    Like

  5. oldegg says:

    There is no better poetry than this! It reads well, it is funny and there is a lesson in there too.

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    I love it when you throw caution to the wind and just be Viv…Hats off to you, my lady…

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Misky says:

    Such a chuckle this gave me. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. rosross says:

    Very witty. A bouncing read.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. drpkp says:

    Absolutely – deliciously – delightful

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jae Rose says:

    What a feast of fairy tale words – refulgent my favourite and shiniest!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Delightfully entertaining, even though you pass it off as something less than what we will find at another link. I’m glad I visited you this fine Sunday morning, Viv!

    Suicide Note

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

