Work in Progress

After two months of poem-a-day challenges, I am reverting to quilting while the creative juices re-generate.  I started making “something, I don’t know what” with three lovely fat quarters.  Like Topsy, it just growed.  WIP central blockThe central block was too big for a table mat, and too small for a lap rug, so I decided to turn it into a medallion quilt by adding borders.WIP red medallion quilt

I didn’t have any quilt batting, so I pulled a “freebie” fleece quilt out of the bathroom cupboard, layered the top with it and am now hand quilting.  Because the middle layer is puffy, I’ve kept the quilting quite sparse

puffy quilting

puffy quilting

and it is keeping me warm like an eiderdown as I quilt.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in quilts and pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Work in Progress

  1. johnlmalone says:

    I stumbled upon your blog. I love quilting. I notice we have almost the same number of followers.

    Like

  2. Ron. says:

    Admirable effort & lovely outcome, V!

    Like

  3. cecilia says:

    I like puffy and these colours are vibrant.. I also like the idea of it keeping you warm a you work.. love love.. c

    Like

  4. Gia says:

    That is so gorgeous. It looks like it will be very cozy.

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, Viv!! >

    Like

  6. I LOVE this…every aspect of it, Viv…the break and rejuvenating, the creative process and the snugly warm poet beneath! Thank you for sharing this moment with me/us. 🙂

    Like

  7. granny1947 says:

    You are so clever.
    that is really lovely.
    I wonder if I shall ever try my hand at that sort of thing?
    I have my doubts.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

