Ante-penultimate Octpo – The Day Before

 

The Day Before
I became a mother, I had no idea
that life could change so much.  I had no fear
that I could cope, saw no snags ahead,
no illness, accidents or quarrels.

Competent in business and domestic life,
I’d had no idea how upside down, shambolic
life would be for years and years,
not to mention melancholic when they went.

Not afraid of responsibility or work
I’d no idea how tired I’d be from watching out,
clearing up, and cooking food they threw about,
teaching, reading, saving and scrimping,
holidays camping,  mopping up spills and conflict of wills.

But all of a sudden
tomorrow becomes today,
and they’ve gone away.
Life is quiet … and calm … and boring.
 

 

This is a bit of a freewrite.  The prompt and lots of more considered responses can be found here

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ante-penultimate Octpo – The Day Before

  1. Rod E. Kok says:

    Lovely bit of writing, Viv. I’m aways away from the boring part, and I’m ok with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kids grow up so soon…. I have 4-5 years to be in this situation..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy days! Though I did find my kids boring at times 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cjswriting says:

    I like your take in this. Life is never the same! Great job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fida says:

    I love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wish you boundless energy, so that you can enjoy it while it lasts!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Real Cie says:

    I remember those days. They were gone in a blink of an eye. I have an empty nest (save for cats). There’s a lot I wish could have gone differently. An improperly diagnosed mental illness caused some trouble that wouldn’t have been there otherwise. But no matter what, I always loved my son. He is the best thing that ever happened to me.
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/10/octpowrimo-2014-day-30.html

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Misky says:

    It’s good that all that activity happens while we’re young enough and energetic enough to cope!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. very sensitive … will sail in the same boat very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m in the middle of the tired part of all that. This could’ve been my story. And I’m sure I’ll feel the same in about 14 years. Thanks for writing this beautiful piece!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

